Non-League Club Directory Logo

Abingdon United

Currently Playing In:

Hellenic League Premier Division

Altrincham Club Crest image

When United were formed in 1946, a second senior club in the Oxfordshire town was considered a challenge by those whose loyalty lay with the ‘Town’ club’, who were already over 50 years old.

After a spell in the North Berkshire League,‘United’ joined The Hellenic League in 1958 and remained in the competition where they became one of the most consistent Premier Division clubs, only spending one campaign in Division One.

Most managers were given time to build their own squads, with good runs enjoyed by Graham Clark and Ray Hayward, but it was Andy Slater in the 2005-2006 season that led ‘the ‘U’s’ to promotion into The Southern League from third place and ahead of their Town rivals.

Sadly, after seven seasons at the higher level, the club resigned from The Southern League and returned to The Hellenic League.


Club Factfile

The North Court, Northcourt Road, Abingdon OX14 1PL
01235 203 203
Website Address:
From the north – Leave A34 at Abingdon north turning. Ground on right at first set of traffic lights. From the south – Enter Town Centre, leave north on A4183 (Oxford Road). Ground on left after one mile.
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Berks & Bucks Senior Trophy 1996-97, 1997-98.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Hellenic League Premier Division14th
1978-1979Hellenic League Premier Division14th
1979-1980Hellenic League Premier Division12th
1980-1981Hellenic League Premier Division16th
1981-1982Hellenic League Division One2nd
1982-1983Hellenic League Premier Division12th
1983-1984Hellenic League Premier Division4thNick Brown
1984-1985Hellenic League Premier Division6thNick Brown
1985-1986Hellenic League Premier Division7thNick Brown
1986-1987Hellenic League Premier Division6thNick Brown
1987-1988Hellenic League Premier Division4thNick Brown
1988-1989Hellenic League Premier Division3rdGraham Clark
1989-1990Hellenic League Premier Division3rdGraham Clark
1990-1991Hellenic League Premier Division7thGraham Clark
1991-1992Hellenic League Premier Division6thGraham Clark
1992-1993Hellenic League Premier Division15thGraham Clark
1993-1994Hellenic League Premier Division12thGraham Clark
1994-1995Hellenic League Premier Division11thK. Stopps
1995-1996Hellenic League Premier Division10thK. Stopps
1996-1997Hellenic League Premier Division2ndRay Hayward
1997-1998Hellenic League Premier Division10thRay Hayward
1998-1999Hellenic League Premier Division7thRay Hayward
1999-2000Hellenic League Premier Division8thRay Hayward
2000-2001Hellenic League Premier Division5thRay Hayward
2001-2002Hellenic League Premier Division4thRay Hayward
2002-2003Hellenic League Premier Division6thRay Hayward
2003-2004Hellenic League Premier Division11thRay Hayward
2004-2005Hellenic League Premier Division5thAndy Slater
2005-2006Hellenic League Premier Division3rdAndy Slater
2006-2007Southern League Division One SW11thAndy Slater
2007-2008Southern League Division One SW16thAndy Slater
2008-2009Southern League Division One SW15thAndy Slater
2009-2010Southern League Division One SW14thAndy Slater
2010-2011Southern League Division One SW16thRichie Bourne
2011-2012Southern League Division One SW18thRichie Bourne
2012-2013Southern League Division One SW20thRay Hayward
2013-2014Hellenic League Premier Division

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!