Non-League Club Directory Logo

AFC Kempston Rovers

Currently Playing In:

United Counties League


A well established Bedfordshire club has spent the majority of its competitive life between The South Midlands and United Counties Football Leagues but sadly, since winning The United Counties Division One Championship in 1986, Rovers appear to have found the Premier Division a very uncomfortable place to be.

In fact it took ‘The Walnut Boys’ fourteen seasons to finish in the top ten, despite giving their managers plenty of time to build their squads.  Finally, it was Ken Davidson who took the club to consecutive 7th and 9th place finishes at the beginning of the century.

Sadly, relegation back to Division One followed three years later, so it was decided to merge with neighbouring clubs Kempston Town and Kempston Colts and play under the new name of AFC Kempston Rovers.

Promotion was gained in their third season but was followed by a quick return but after three very solid seasons under manager Dave Randell, the Division One title was won again and this time the club are working hard to consolidate at the Premier level.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Kempston Rovers >2004
Hillgrounds Leisure, Hillgrounds Road, Kempston, Bedford MK42 8SZ
01234 852 346
Take A 421 Bedford by-pass turning as indicated to Kempston A5140 Woburn Road. At roundabout, turn left into St Johns Street, then right into Bedford Road. After the shops and park on the left, turn immediately left into Hillgrounds Road. Ground is past the Swimming Pool on the right.
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Hitchingbrooke Cup 2011-2012

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978United Counties Premier Division12th
1978-1979United Counties Premier Division3rdM.Bartlett
1979-1980United Counties Premier Division17thM.Bartlett
1980-1981United Counties Premier Division3rd
1981-1982United Counties Premier Division11th
1982-1983United Counties Premier Division18th
1983-1984United Counties Division One3rd
1984-1985United Counties Division One5th
best year1985-1986United Counties Division One1stL.Adams
1986-1987United Counties Premier Division16thBobby Folds
1987-1988United Counties Premier Division19thBobby Folds
1988-1989United Counties Premier Division19thBobby Folds
1989-1990United Counties Premier Division22ndBobby Folds
1990-1991United Counties Premier Division15thAlan Wright
1991-1992United Counties Premier Division15thAlan Wright
1992-1993United Counties Premier Division15thAlan Wright
1993-1994United Counties Premier Division21stAlan Wright
1994-1995United Counties Premier Division19thRussell Shreeves
1995-1996United Counties Premier Division20thRussell Shreeves
1996-1997United Counties Premier Division17thRussell Shreeves
1997-1998United Counties Premier Division21stMark Smith
1998-1999United Counties Premier Division17thNeil Rodney
1999-2000United Counties Premier Division7thKen Davidson
2000-2001United Counties Premier Division9thKen Davidson
2001-2002United Counties Premier Division19thKen Davidson
2002-2003United Counties Premier Division21stSteve Fox
2003-2004United Counties Division One16thSteve Fox
As AFC Kempston Rovers
2004-2005United Counties Division One16thJohn Dower & Bob Reed
2005-2006United Counties Division One4thClive Black
2006-2007United Counties Division One3rdClive Black
2007-2008United Counties Premier Division21stNeil Trebble
2008-2009United Counties Division One5thDave Randell
2009-2010United Counties Division One5thDave Randell
 2010-2011United Counties Division One1stDave Randell
2011-2012United Counties Premier Division10thDave Randell
2012-2013United Counties Premier Division17thDave Randell & John Guiney
2013-2014United Counties Premier Division

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!