Non-League Club Directory Logo

AFC Telford United

Currently Playing In:

Conference North

Altrincham Club Crest image

As Wellington Town, the club formed in 1876, had developed through The Birmingham and Cheshire Leagues and paved the way for a distinguished stay in The Southern League, which it joined when the league introduced two regional divisions in 1958. The club changed its name to Telford United in 1969 and ‘The Bucks’ were to become one of Non-League Football’s most famous and successful clubs with FA Trophy triumphs and glamourous FA Cup runs.

Having qualified for the new Football Alliance in 1979, they remained at the peak of non-league football for 25 seasons before the club’s move to the impressive New Bucks Head ground triggered a financial collapse. At the end of the 2003-2004 season, the two remaining Conference ever-presents had left together. Northwich Victoria were relegated and Telford United, although finishing twelfth, were disbanded and re-formed as AFC Telford United playing in Division One of the Unibond Northern Premier League in 2004-2005.

The introduction of the Play-Offs have been popular at Telford. Promotion to the Unibond Premier was achieved immediately when victories over Eastwood Town and Kendal Town watched by 4,215, took them into The Premier Division. For the last home match in 2006-2007, a crowd of 5,710 watched ‘The Bucks’ lose the vital fixture, but more play-offs brought victories over Marine and Witton Albion (away) and a return to Conference football.

Four seasons in the Conference North saw the club settle down, attract good support and build steadily towards the challenge for Premier football, which was achieved through the play-offs again in 2011, with victories over Nuneaton Town and Guiseley (5,436). Three recent appearances in The First Round Proper have been a happy reminder of Telford United’s wonderful FA Cup record, especially in the eighties, but sadly the club failed to consolidate within The Blue Square Premier and were relegated at the end of the 2012-2013 season.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
AFC Telford United was formed when Telford United folded in May 2004.
New Bucks Head Stadium, Watling Street, Wellington, Telford TF1 2TU
01952 640 064
(Sat Nav follow TF1 2NW into Haybridge Road) From M54 Junction 6, A5223 towards Wellington, straight over first roundabout (retail park). Straight over second roundabout (B5067). Left at third roundabout (Furrows garage). Continue over railway bridge and follow road round to the right, then turn left into AFC Telford United Car Park.
Record Attendance:
4,215 v Kendal Town - Northern Premier League play-off final
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Conference North 2013-14

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Southern League Premier3rdGeoff Hurst
1979-1980Alliance Premier13thGordon Banks
1980-1981Alliance Premier13thGordon Banks
1981-1982Alliance Premier3rdStan Storton
1982-1983Alliance Premier6thStan Storton
1983-1984Alliance Premier11thStan Storton
1984-1985Alliance Premier10thStan Storton
1985-1986Alliance Premier8thStan Storton
1986-1987Football Conference9thStan Storton
1987-1988Football Conference5thStan Storton
1988-1989Football Conference16thStan Storton
1989-1990Football Conference12thStan Storton
1990-1991Football Conference 6thGerry Daly
1991-1992Football Conference 6thGerry Daly
1992-1993Football Conference15thGerry Daly
1993-1994Football Conference17thGeorge Foster
1994-1995Football Conference19thGeorge Foster
1995-1996Football Conference13thWayne Clarke
1996-1997Football Conference9thWayne Clarke
1997-1998Football Conference20thSteve Daley
1998-1999Football Conference17thJimmy Mullen
1999-2000Football Conference16thAlan Lewer
2000-2001Football Conference6thJake King
2001-2002Football Conference9thJake King
2002-2003Football Conference15thJake King
2003-2004Football Conference12thMick Jones
2004-2005Northern Premier League Division One3rdBernard McNally
2005-2006Northern Premier League Premier Division10thBernard McNally
2006-2007Northern Premier League Premier Division3rdRob Smith
2007-2008Conference North2ndRob Smith
2008-2009Conference North4thRob Smith
2009-2010Conference North11thRob Smith
2010-2011Conference North2ndAndy Sinton
2011-2012Conference Premier20thAndy Sinton
2012-2013Conference Premier24thAndy Sinton
 2013-2014Conference North1stLiam Watson
2014-2015Conference Premier

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!