Non-League Club Directory Logo

AFC Totton

Although football in Totton kicked off in 1886 the merger of Totton FC and Totton Athletic unified the town under the banner of AFC Totton in 1979.

Six years in the Hampshire League saw the new name featuring in the top two every season, so they were naturals to join the new Wessex League and the 1986-87 season saw the start of a twenty two year spell with the club battling to consolidate for the first eight years.

The club had two poor seasons, finishing 21st in 1994 and 20th two years later. Since then however, there has never been a finish outside the top ten. After ten campaigns with the club’s confidence and reputation boosted,’ The Stags’ won promotion into The Southern League as Wessex champions in 2008.

Under the guidance of Stuart Ritchie, a third place finish, a second and then another championship took the club into The Southern Premier Division. The football world really took notice of the little Hampshire club when they beat Bradford PA 8-1 in the First Round of the FA Cup in the 2011-2012 season and then finished a high scoring sixth in their first premier campaign.


Club Factfile

Testwood Stadium, Salisbury Road, Calmore, Totton SO40 2RW
02380 868 981
From the M27 Junction 2. From the east take the first exit at the roundabout or from the west take the third exit at the roundabout. Take the first left within 100 yards, signposted Totton Central. At the T junction turn left and you will find the entrance to the ground approximately 1 mile on the left hand side, just before the Calmore Roundabout.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1980-1981Hampshire League2nd
 1981-1982Hampshire League1stTrevor Parker & R.Badley
1982-1983Hampshire League2ndTrevor Parker & R Badley
1983-1984Hampshire League2ndTrevor Parker & R.Badley
 1984-1985Hampshire League1stR.Sherwood
1985-1986Hampshire League2ndR.Sherwood
1986-1987Wessex League3rdDon Gowans
1987-1988Wessex League8thDon Gowans
1988-1989Wessex League14thAlan Keith
1989-1990Wessex League6thAlan Keith
1990-1991Wessex League14th
1991-1992Wessex League17th
1992-1993Wessex League16th
1993-1994Wessex League21stG.Chard
1994-1995Wessex League9thEddie Harper
1995-1996Wessex League14thEddie Harper
1996-1997Wessex League20thEddie Harper
1997-1998Wessex League8thIan Robinson
1998-1999Wessex League9thIan Robinson
1999-2000Wessex League4thIan Robinson
2000-2001Wessex League5thIan Robinson
2001-2002Wessex League3rdIan Robinson
2002-2003Wessex League3rdIan Robinson
2003-2004Wessex League8thJohn Robson
2004-2005Wessex League8thStuart Ritchie
2005-2006Wessex League4thStuart Ritchie
2006-2007Wessex League2ndStuart Ritchie
 2007-2008Wessex League1stStuart Ritchie
2008-2009Southern League Division One South & West3rdStuart Ritchie
2009-2010Southern League Division One South & West2ndStuart Ritchie
 2010-2011Southern League Division One South & West1stStuart Ritchie
2011-2012Southern League Premier Division6thStuart Ritchie
2012-2013Southern League Premier Division14thStephen Riley
2013-2014Southern League Premier Division21stStephen Riley

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!