Non-League Club Directory Logo

Ashford United

Currently Playing In:

Southern Counties East


The town of Ashford in Kent first had a football club in 1891 and it was known as Ashford United until disbanding in 1907. Then in 1930 a new club competed in The Kent League as Ashford Town.

In 1959-1960 the club were founder members of the new Division One in the Southern League and in 1963-1964 promotion was gained from a fourth place finish.

The Premier Division was enjoyed in two short spells while the club remained within The Southern League, until switching to the Isthmian League after the non-league re-organization in 2004.

With the emergence of Ashford Town in Middlesex, it was decided at the turn of the century that it would help everyone if ‘The Nuts & Bolts’ became known as Ashford Town (Kent) .

Sadly the future as an Isthmian club didn’t prove successful.The club closed down in 2010 and returned, once again as Ashford United, to rebuild and hopefully move back up the non-league pyramid.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Ashford Town 1930-2010
The Homelands, Ashford Road
01233 611 838
Record Attendance:
At Homelands - 3,363 v Fulham, FAC 1st Rnd 1994

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

As Ashford Town
1977-1978Southern League Division One South15thGordon Burden
1978-1979Southern League Division One South19thGordon Burden
1979-1980Southern League Division One South19thGordon Burden
1980-1981Southern League Division One South16thGordon Burden
1981-1982Southern League Division One South14thGordon Burden
1982-1983Southern League Division One South8thGordon Burden
1983-1984Southern League Division One South8thGordon Burden
1984-1985Southern League Division One South17thChris Weller
1985-1986Southern League Division One South18thPeter Sillett
1986-1987Southern League Division One South2ndPeter Sillett
1987-1988Southern League Premier Division12thNicky Sparks
1988-1989Southern League Premier Division18thNicky Sparks
1989-1990Southern League Premier Division20thChris Weller
1990-1991Southern League Southern Division5thNeil Cugley
1991-1992Southern League Southern Division7thNeil Cugley
1992-1993Southern League Southern Division8thNeil Cugley
1993-1994Southern League Southern Division6thNeil Cugley
1994-1995Southern League Southern Division5thNeil Cugley
1995-1996Southern League Southern Division2ndNeil Cugley
1996-1997Southern League Premier Division19thNeil Cugley
1997-1998Southern League Premier Division21stNigel Donn
1998-1999Southern League Southern Division7thNigel Donn
1999-2000Southern League Eastern Division6thNigel Donn
As Ashford Town (Kent)
2000-2001Southern League Eastern Division12thTony Reynolds
2001-2002Southern League Eastern Division14thTim Thorogood
2002-2003Southern League Eastern Division11thTim Thorogood
2003-2004Southern League Division One East12thTim Thorogood
2004-2005Isthmian League Division One20thTim Thorogood
2005-2006Isthmian League Division One21stTim Thorogood & John Cumberbatch
2006-2007Isthmian League Division One South18thTim Thorogood & John Cumberbatch
2007-2008Isthmian League Division One South8thClive Walker
2008-2009Isthmian League Division One South7thSteve Lovell
2009-2010Isthmian League Division One South20thSteve Lovell
As Ashford United
2011-2012Kent Invicta League5thPaul Chambers
2012-2013Kent Invicta League3rdPaul Chambers
2013-2014Southern Counties East Football League

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!