Non-League Club Directory Logo

Ashton United

Currently Playing In:

Northern Premier League Premier Division

Altrincham Club Crest image

Another club from the Manchester area that has worked its way through the local leagues since its formation in 1878.  After playing in The Manchester League, three spells in the Lancashire Combination, one with The Midland League and two with the Cheshire County League, ‘The Robins ‘ joined the North West Counties League in 1982.

With regular changes of management, Ashton United found it difficult initially and were relegated after two seasons. However, after four years of rebuilding, a return to Division One brought regular challenges at the top of the table and under the guidance of Dave Denby ‘United’ were promoted into The Northern Premier League Division One as Champions.

Nine of the next ten seasons brought top ten finishes and in 2002 promotion was gained in time to be involved in the league restructuring, which brought them a place in the newly formed Conference North

Sadly, that proved to be the peak of achievement so far for Ashton United. They have now settled down in the Northern Premier League Premier Division in which they have consistently held a place in mid table.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Hurst 1878-1947
Hurst Cross, Surrey Street, Ashton under Lyne OL6 8DY
0161 339 4158 (Club). 0161 330 1511 (Social)
Website Address:
From the M62 (approx 7.5 miles) Exit at Junction 20, take A627M to Oldham exit (2.5 miles) Take A627 towards Oldham town centre At King Street Roundabout take Park Road Continue straight onto B6194 Abbey Hills Road Follow B6194 onto Lees Road Turn right at the stone cross memorial and 1st right into the ground. From the M60 (approx 2.5 miles); Exit at Junction 23, take A635 for Ashton town centre Follow by-pass to B6194 Mossley Road. At traffic lights turn left into Queens Road Continue onto B6194 Lees Road Turn left at the stone cross memorial and 1st right into the ground.
Record Attendance:
11,000 v Halifax Town - FA Cup 1st Round 1952.
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Northern Premier League Cup 2010-11.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Cheshire County 6thEddie Hopkinson
1978-1979Cheshire County 17thEddie Hopkinson
1979-1980Cheshire County 4thEddie Hopkinson
1980-1981Cheshire County 11thEddie Hopkinson
1981-1982Cheshire County 19thDerek Partridge
1982-1983North West Counties Division One13thDerek Partridge
1983-1984North West Counties Division One19thGlyn Watson
1984-1985North West Counties Division Two4thBill Chell
1985-1986North West Counties Division Two14thJim Fletcher
1986-1987North West Counties Division Two3rdAlbert Pike
 1987-1988North West Counties Division Two1stAlbert Pike
1988-1989North West Counties Division One17thDave Lees
1989-1990North West Counties Division One9thMike Hilton
1990-1991North West Counties Division One3rdDave Denby
 1991-1992North West Counties Division One1stDave Denby
1992-1993Northern Premier League Division One3rdDave Denby
1993-1994Northern Premier League Division One3rdKevin Keelan
1994-1995Northern Premier League Division One8thKevin Keelan
1995-1996Northern Premier League Division One9thPhil Staley
1996-1997Northern Premier League Division One9thPhil Staley
1997-1998Northern Premier League Division One3rdJohn Coleman
1998-1999Northern Premier League Division One3rdJohn Coleman
1999-2000Northern Premier League Division One14thJohn Coleman
2000-2001Northern Premier League Division One3rdGerry Quinn
2001-2002Northern Premier League Division One3rdGerry Quinn
2002-2003Northern Premier League Premier Division16thGerry Quinn
2003-2004Northern Premier League Premier Division14thGerry Quinn
2004-2005Conference North21stGerry Quinn
2005-2006Northern Premier League Premier Division15thGerry Quinn
2006-2007Northern Premier League Premier Division18thScott Green
2007-2008Northern Premier League Premier Division10thDanny Johnson
2008-2009Northern Premier League Premier Division9thDanny Johnson
2009-2010Northern Premier League Premier Division12thDanny Johnson
2010-2011Northern Premier League Premier Division14thDanny Johnson
2011-2012Northern Premier League Premier Division12thDanny Johnson
2012-2013Northern Premier League Premier Division10thDanny Johnson
2013-2014Northern Premier League Premier Division5thDanny Johnson

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!