Non-League Club Directory Logo

Atherstone Town

Currently Playing In:

Midland Combination Premier Division


The original Atherstone club was formed in 1887 and played its early football in the local leagues before joining The Birmingham Combination in 1911 where they competed until moving to The West Midlands League in 1964.

A step up to The Southern League was celebrated in 1972 and in the following season promotion was won to The Premier Division. Sadly the improvements couldn’t continue as the club went into liquidation in the Summer 0f 1979.

A year later Atherstone United joined The West Midland League and although the club once again enjoyed seventeen years of Southern League football, a second liquidation once again eventually halted progress.

Back under the title of Atherstone Town in 2004, the club really made a spectacular return, winning consecutive promotions from The Midland Combination Division One and their Premier Division to earn a place in the Midland Football Alliance.  Just two seasons later a third spell as a Southern League club was earned as Alliance champions.

Sadly, it was soon apparent that the club wasn’t ready for Southern League football but after their resignation, another disappointing season took ‘The Adders’ back into the Football Combination. Hopefully the tide has now turned and the club will steadily climb back to the levels they previously enjoyed.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Sheepy Road, Atherstone
01827 717 829
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Midland Football Alliance 2007-2008

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

As Atherstone Town
1977-1978Southern League Premier Division16th
1978-1979Southern League Premier Division16th
1979-1980Northern Premier LeagueResigned
As Atherstone United
 1981-1982West Midlands Division One1stD.Seedhouse
1982-1983West Midlands Premier Division5thD.Seedhouse
1983-1984West Midlands Premier Division3rdD.Seedhouse
1984-1985West Midlands Premier Division3rdRon Bradbury
1985-1986West Midlands Premier Division3rdRon Bradbury
1986-1987Southern League Midland Division4thRon Bradbury
1987-1988Southern League Midland Division2ndRon Bradbury
1988-1989Southern League Midland Division2ndRon Bradbury
1989-1990Southern League Midland Division6thRon Bradbury
1990-1991Southern League Midland Division15thRon Bradbury
1991-1992Southern League Midland Division13thJoe Gallagher
1992-1993Southern League Midland Division15thGraham Smith
1993-1994Southern League Midland Division4thM.Brookes
1994-1995Southern League Midland Division16th M.Brookes
1995-1996Southern League Midland Division17thC.Robinson
1996-1997Southern League Midland Division11thRon Bradbury
1997-1998Southern League Midland Division9thRon Bradbury
1998-1999Southern League Midland Division16th Ron Bradbury
1999-2000Southern League Midland Division22ndRon Bradbury
2000-2001Southern League Western Division9thStephen Mackenzie
2001-2002Southern League Western Division9thStephen Mackenzie
2002-2003Southern League Western Division20thKenny Willis
As Atherstone Town
 2004-2005Midland Combination Division One1stJimmy Ginelly
 2005-2006Midland Combination Premier Division1stJimmy Ginelly
2006-2007Midland Football Alliance8thJimmy Ginelly
 2007-2008Midland Football Alliance1stJimmy Ginelly
2008-2009Southern League Division One Midllands3rdJimmy Ginelly
2009-2010Southern League Division One Midllands13thDaren Fulford
2010-2011Southern League Division One Central21stDale Belford/Mark Grainger
2011-2012Midland Football Alliance21stMark Grainger
2012-2013Midland Football Combination9thMark Grainger
2013-2014Midland Football Combination5thIvor Green

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!