Non-League Club Directory Logo


Currently Playing In:

Isthmian League Premier Division


Formed between the two world wars in 1927, Aveley Football Club steadily worked their way through the local leagues, starting with The Thurrock Combination for three seasons when competitive league football started again in 1946.

The Essex club then moved on to The London League (1949-1957) and Delphian League (1957-1963) before settling for ten years in the highly respected Athenian League where they won the championship in the 1970-1971 campaign.

The Isthmian League developed into the major southern amateur competition and Aveley joined in 1973, remaining ever since, apart from a two year spell in The Southern League in 2004-2006.  After an apparent lack of managerial continuity, with five managers in five years in the early ‘nineties,’ Craig Johnston appeared to be a settling influence and after a five year spell as Manager became a long serving Club Secretary.

Promotion into The Isthmian Premier Division was gained under the guidance of Rod Stringer in 2009, but sadly’ The MIllers’ have found it difficult to follow up their excellent third place finish in their first season.


Club Factfile

Mill Field, Aveley, Essex RM 154SJ
01708 865 940
From the London-Southend A 1306, turn into Sandy Lane at Aveley
Record Attendance:
3,741 v Slough Town FA Amateur Cup, 27th February 971.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Isthmian League Division One12thL.Wilkinson
1979-1980Isthmian League Division One15thL.Wilkinson
1980-1981Isthmian League Division One16thL.Wilkinson
1981-1982Isthmian League Division One14thL.Wilkinson
1982-1983Isthmian League Division One11thB.Dixon
1983-1984Isthmian League Division One12thB.Dixon
1984-1985Isthmian League Division One13thR.Kean
1985-1986Isthmian League Division One22ndTerry Matthews
1986-1987Isthmian League Division Two North5thTerry Matthews
1987-1988Isthmian League Division Two North21stTony Bass
1988-1989Isthmian League Division Two North9thGary Calder
1989-1990Isthmian League Division Two North2ndGary Calder
1990-1991Isthmian League Division One4thGary Calder
1991-1992Isthmian League Division One21stTed Marjoram
1992-1993Isthmian League Division One21stTom Lee
1993-1994Isthmian League Division Two10thColin McBride
1994-1995Isthmian League Division Two21stKeith Newman
1995-1996Isthmian League Division Three10thCraig Johnson
1996-1997Isthmian League Division Three5thCraig Johnson
1997-1998Isthmian League Division Three9thCraig Johnson
1998-1999Isthmian League Division Three14thCraig Johnson
1999-2000Isthmian League Division Three9thCraig Johnson
2000-2001Isthmian League Division Three6thPaul Joynes
2001-2002Isthmian League Division Three3rdSteve Mosely
2002-2003Isthmian League Division One North6thSteve Mosely
2003-2004Isthmian League Division One North14thBrian Horne
2004-2005Southern League Division One East17thAmin Levitt
2005-2006Southern League Division One East20thAmin Levitt
2006-2007Isthmian League Division One North15thSteve Brown
2007-2008Isthmian League Division One North11thDave Spittle
 2008-2009Isthmian League Division One North1stRod Stringer
2009-2010Isthmian League Premier Division3rdRod Stringer
2010-2011Isthmian League Premier Division19thR.Kean
2011-2012Isthmian League Premier Division20thCarl Griffiths
2012-2013Isthmian League Division One North5thJustin Gardner
2013-3014Isthmian League Division One North13thJustin Gardner

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!