Non-League Club Directory Logo

Bamber Bridge

Altrincham Club Crest image

The Bamber Bridge story started in 1952 when they competed in The Preston & District League and they stayed at that level until 1990.

To move up to The North West Counties was a big move, but with Barrie Massey guiding the club on and off the field they enjoyed three very successful years, although when they won the championship in 1992 they were not ready off the field for promotion. One year later they made it, and ‘Brig’ have stayed in The Northern Premier League ever since.

Taking over as manager was Tony Greenwood, who in the last twenty years had served club as manager in three spells. He was also at the helm in the clubs famous cup run to The FA Cup 2nd Round in the 1999-2000 campaign.

The club survived eight seasons in the Premier Division and found it tough to establish themselves, but in Division One their performances have varied and their supporters feel the best is yet to come.


Club Factfile

The QED Stadium, Brownedge Road, Bamber Bridge PR5 6UX
01772 909 690
Junction 29, A6 (Bamber Bridge by-pass)onto London Way. First roundabout take 3rd exit Brownedge Road (East) then take first right. Ground on left at the bottom of the road.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

 1991-1992North West Counties Division Two1stBarrie Massey
1992-1993North West Counties Division One2ndBarrie Massey
1993-1994Northern Premier League Division One13thTony Greenwood
1994-1995Northern Premier League Division One2ndTony Greenwood
 1995-1996Northern Premier League Premier Division1stTony Greenwood
1996-1997Northern Premier League Premier Division20thMick Holgate
1997-1998Northern Premier League Premier Division19thMartin Eatough
1998-1999Northern Premier League Premier Division4thMartin Eatough
1999-2000Northern Premier League Premier Division17thTony Greenwood
2000-2001Northern Premier League Premier Division12thTony Greenwood
2001-2002Northern Premier League Premier Division23rdTony Greenwood
2002-2003Northern Premier League Division One13thPaul Byron
2003-2004Northern Premier League Division One10thPaul Byron
2004-2005Northern Premier League Premier Division21stPaul Byron
2005-2006Northern Premier League Division One13thAndy Whittaker
2006-2007Northern Premier League Division One13thAndy Whittaker
2007-2008Northern Premier League Division One North4thPhil Entwistle
2008-2009Northern Premier League Division One North11thPhil Entwistle
2009-2010Northern Premier League Division One North14thTony Greenwood
2010-2011Northern Premier League Division One North7thTony Greenwood
2011-2012Northern Premier League Division One North19thNeil Crowe
2012-2013Northern Premier League Division One North9thNeil Crowe
2013-2014Northern Premier League Division One North4thNeil Crowe

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!