Non-League Club Directory Logo

Banbury United

Currently Playing In:

Southern League Premier Division

Altrincham Club Crest image

The club’s first competitive season after their formation in 1933 was in the Banbury Junior League but during their history Banbury United have varied their leagues geographically.

The club quickly graduated to the Oxfordshire Senior League and equally swiftly on to The Birmingham Combination for the 1935-1936 campaign, where they remained until they joined The West Midlands (Regional) League in 1953. This was ideal preparation for a step up into the Southern League which ‘The Puritans’ achieved in 1966.

This spell proved a tough challenge, and after twelve consecutive seasons without a top ten finish,Banbury were relegated and this time joined the prospering local Hellenic League. Confidence was rebuilt in the next ten years and at the turn of the century The Hellenic League Championship was won and Southern League membership regained.
The re-organization of the leagues in 2004 found Banbury placed in the Southern Premier Division where they have settled down happily.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Spencer Villa 1931-34. Banbury Spencer. Club reformed in 1965 as Banbury United
Spencer Stadium, off Station Road, Banbury OX16 5TA
01295 263 354
From M40, Junction 11, head towards Banbury, over first roundabout, left at next roundabout into Concorde Avenue. Straight on at next roundabout, taking left hand lane, and turn left at traffic lights, turn first right into Station Approach. At station forecourt and car park, take narrow single track road on extreme right and follow to Stadium.(Direct SatNav to OX16 5AB).
Record Attendance:
7,160 v Oxford City - FA Cup 3rd Qualifying Round 30/10/1948
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Oxfordshire Senior Cup 2003-04

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Southern League Division One North6thB.Stone
1978-1979Southern League Division One North15thB.Stone
1979-1980Southern League Division One North13thB.Stone
1980-1981Southern League Midland Division16thH.Curran
1981-1982Southern League Midland Division18thNigel Cassidy
1982-1983Southern League Midland Division7thJ.Watson
1983-1984Southern League Midland Division18thJ.Watson
1984-1985Southern League Midland Division17thWilf Tranter
1985-1986Southern League Midland Division17thP.Lines
1986-1987Southern League Midland Division12thP.Lines
1987-1988Southern League Midland Division10thP.Lines
1988-1989Southern League Midland Division16thChris Perkins
1989-1990Southern League Midland Division21st
1990-1991Hellenic League8thColin Holder
1991-1992Hellenic League10thWillie Hastie
1992-1993Hellenic League12thWillie Hastie
1993-1994Hellenic League3rdWillie Hastie
1994-1995Hellenic League8thWillie Hastie
1995-1996Hellenic League15thWilf Tranter
1996-1997Hellenic League8thIan Bowyer
1997-1998Hellenic League4thIan Bowyer
1998-1999Hellenic League4thPhil Lines
 1999-2000Hellenic League1stKevin Brock
2000-2001Southern League Eastern Division13thKevin Brock
2001-2002Southern League Eastern Division15thKevin Brock
2002-2003Southern League Eastern Division8thKevin Brock
2003-2004Southern League Eastern Division8thKevin Brock
2004-2005Southern League Premier Division17thKevin Brock
2005-2006Southern League Premier Division7thKevin Brock
2006-2007Southern League Premier Division13thKevin Brock
2007-2008Southern League Premier Division9thKieran Sullivan
2008-2009Southern League Premier Division19thKieran Sullivan
2009-2010Southern League Premier Division12thBilly Jeffrey
2010-2011Southern League Premier Division16thBilly Jeffrey
2011-2012Southern League Premier Division16thAdy Fuller
2012-2013Southern League Premier Division16thAdy Fuller
2013-2014Southern League Premier Division19thEdwin Stein

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!