Non-League Club Directory Logo


Currently Playing In:

Essex Senior League


Barking Football Club have enjoyed a time when they were one of the leading clubs outside The Football League. After their original formation in 1880 the club has played under a number of names which were always loyal to the Essex district of Barking and which took the ambitious club through The South Essex, London and Athenian Leagues before achieving a place in the Isthmian League in 1952.

The club celebrated its first major triumph in 1978-1979 when ‘The Blues’ won the Isthmian Championship under the leadership of manager Eddie McCluskey. However, the Essex club found life tough in the ever improving Isthmian Premier Division, and after 1980, the club only enjoyed one top ten finish before being relegated in 1991.

Sadly the club dropped steadily down the non-league pyramid and the famous Barking FC joined forces with East Ham United. The new club suffered three desperate Isthmian seasons before league re-organization in 2004 gave the club a chance in the Southern league.

Although results improved,the new club was withdrawn in 2006. This was the signal for some loyal supporters to revive Barking Football Club again and the once famous club have produced encouraging performances in the Essex Senior League.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Barking Rovers,Barking Woodville, Barking Working Lads Institute,Barking own and Barking & East Ham United
Mayersbrook Park, Lodge Avenue, Dagenham RM8 2JR
0776 4587112
Record Attendance:
1,972 v Aldershot, FA Cup 2nd Round 1978.
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Essex Senior Cup 1989-1990

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

As Barking
1977-1978Isthmian League Premier Division10thEddie McCluskey
 1978-1979Isthmian League Premier Division1stEddie McCluskey
1979-1980Isthmian League Premier Division7thEddie McCluskey
1980-1981Isthmian League Premier Division18thHarry Cripps
1981-1982Isthmian League Premier Division12thHarry Cripps
1982-1983Isthmian League Premier Division14thPeter Carey
1983-1984Isthmian League Premier Division16thPeter Carey
1984-1985Isthmian League Premier Division19thErnie Walley
1985-1986Isthmian League Premier Division18thBobby Arber
1986-1987Isthmian League Premier Division8thBobby Arber
1987-1988Isthmian League Premier Division19thGeorge Borg
1988-1989Isthmian League Premier Division10thGeorge Borg
1989-1990Isthmian League Premier Division20thGeorge Borg
1990-1991Isthmian League Premier Division21stDave Patient
1991-1992Isthmian League Division One12thDave Patient
1992-1993Isthmian League Division One19thDave Patient/Perry Coney
1993-1994Isthmian League Division One14thPerry Coney
1994-1995Isthmian League Division One15thDennis Elliott
1995-1996Isthmian League Division One22ndLyndon Lynch
1996-1997Isthmian League Division Two4thPaul Downes
1997-1998Isthmian League Division Two12thPaul Downes
1998-1999Isthmian League Division Two19thArthur Wenborn
1999-2000Isthmian League Division Two7thArthur Wenborn
2000-2001Isthmian League Division Two3rdCraig Edwards
As Barking & East Ham United
2001-2002Isthmian League Division One21stCraig Edwards
2002-2003Isthmian League Division One North12thRichard Thomas
2003-2004Isthmian League Division One North23rdRichard Thomas
2004-2005Southern League Division One East6thDennis Elliott
2005-2006Southern League Division One East5thDennis Elliott
As Barking
2006-2007Essex Senior League6thJay Devereux
2007-2008Essex Senior League9thRod Stringer
2008-2009Essex Senior League12thDave Ross
2009-2010Essex Senior League7thSteve Munday
2010-2011Essex Senior League6thSteve Munday
2011-2012Essex Senior League5thSteve Munday
2012-2013Essex Senior League6thAlan Dickens
2013-2014Essex Senior League12th

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!