Non-League Club Directory Logo


Altrincham Club Crest image

When Barrow Football Club were formed in 1901 they began their career in The Lancashire Combination and after just twenty seasons earned a place in The Football League, where they remained for over fifty years until they returned to The Northern Premier League in 1972.

With five spells in the N.P.L interspersed with four periods in Conference football, the Barrow fans have certainly enjoyed a variety of opposition clubs visiting Holker Street. Promotion has been gained after three Northern Premier League Championships were won in 1984,1989 and 1998 with qualification to the newly formed Conference North in 2004 having finished in third place in the N.P.L.

Three tough campaigns saw Barrow battling to establish themselves at the higher level, but during the 2007-2008 season a new managerial team of Dave Bayliss and Darren Sheridan were appointed. After a twenty match unbeaten run ‘The Bluebirds’ found themselves in 5th position and a chance to challenge for promotion through the play-offs.

AFC Telford United were beaten 2-0 home and away which brought them a final eliminator against Stalybridge Celtic and another clean sheet in a 1-0 victory Barrow had reached the top! They were to contest The Blue Square (Conference) Premier League, but the club found the Premier League a tough challenge and after five difficult campaigns were sadly relegated back to The Conference North.

If their league positions have been conservative, Barrow’s cup efforts have certainly given their fans some excitement. They competed in the The FA Cup First Round in 2006-2007 and 2007-208 and the joint managers, Dave Bayliss and Darren Sheridan certainly prepared their squads correctly for the FA Cup, with exciting performances taking Barrow to the Third Round twice and the First Round twice, apart from winning the FA Trophy 2-1 at Wembley in 2010 against Stevenage in front of 21,223.


Club Factfile

Holker Street Stadium, Wilkie Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5UW
01299 823 061
M6 Junction 36, onto A590 signposted Barrow. Follow A590 all the way to the outskirts of Barrow (approx. 27 miles) entering via Industrial route. In a further 2 miles you pass the Fire Station on the right hand side, take next left into Wilkie Road, the ground is on the right.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Northern Premier League Premier Division13thBrian McManus
1978-1979Northern Premier League Premier Division16thBrian McManus
1979-1980Alliance Premier14thBrian McManus /Mick Taylor
1980-1981Alliance Premier 9thMick Taylor
1981-1982Alliance Premier 8thMick Taylor
1982-1983Alliance Premier21stMick Taylor
 1983-1984Northern Premier League Premier Division1stVic Halom
1984-1985Alliance Premier18thP.McDonnell/Brian Kidd
John Cooke & John Murphy
1985-1986Alliance Premier21stMaurice Whittle/David Johnson/Ray Wilkie
1986-1987Northern Premier League Premier Division15thRay Wilkie
1987-1988Northern Premier League Premier Division5thRay Wilkie
 1988-1989Northern Premier League Premier Division1stRay Wilkie
1989-1990Conference14thRay Wilkie
1990-1991Conference10thRay Wilkie
1991-1992Conference22ndRay Wilkie
1992-1993Northern Premier League Premier Division8thRichard Dinnis
1993-1994Northern Premier League Premier Division7thRichard Dinnis
1994-1995Northern Premier League Premier Division11thTony Hesketh
1995-1996Northern Premier League Premier Division4thTony Hesketh
1996-1997Northern Premier League Premier Division5thMike Walsh
 1997-1998Northern Premier League Premier Division1stOwen Brown
1998-1999Conference19thAndy Ford
1999-2000Northern Premier League Premier Division13thKenny Lowe
2000-2001Northern Premier League Premier Division6thKenny Lowe
2001-2002Northern Premier League Premier Division8thKenny Lowe
2002-2003Northern Premier League Premier Division2ndKenny Lowe
2003-2004Northern Premier League Premier Division3rdKenny Lowe
2004-2005Conference North16thLee Turnbull
2005-2006Conference North14thLee Turnbull
2006-2007Conference North16thPhil Wilson
2007-2008Conference North5thPhil Wilson/ Bayliss & Sheridan
2008-2009Conference Premier20thDave Bayliss & Darren Sheridan
2009-2010Conference Premier15thDave Bayliss & Darren Sheridan
2010-2011Conference Premier18thDave Bayliss & Darren Sheridan
2011-2012Conference Premier13thDave Bayliss & Darren Sheridan
2012-2013Conference Premier22ndDave Bayliss
2013-2014Conference North

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!