Non-League Club Directory Logo

Basingstoke Town

Altrincham Club Crest image

Ten years after their formation, Basingstoke Town Football Club joined the Hampshire League and, apart from the War years, ‘The Dragons’ steadily developed on and off the field with a move to The Camrose Ground in 1947 and a steady challenge for honours in the late sixties.

As Hampshire League Champions three times between 1968 and 1971, ‘The Dragons’ proved they were ready for promotion and were accepted by The Southern League for the 1971-1972 season.

Promotion as Champions from The Southern League Southern Division in 1984-1985 gave the club two years in The Southern Premier before moving across to the Isthmian Premier League. Expectations for an exciting Isthmian season were crushed as the club were immediately relegated, but with Trevor Parker in charge, Basingstoke Town bounced straight back at the first attempt and soon hit the headlines again with an FA Cup run to the 2nd Round Proper in the 1989-1990 season.

After another short spell in Division One, the steadying influence of Ernie Howe took the club back to the Isthmian Premier football and on to The Conference South where Francis Vines, for two campaigns, and for the last four seasons Frank Gray, have helped the club consolidate and last season achieve its best ever league position.


Club Factfile

Camrose Road, Western Way, Basingstoke RG22 6EZ
01256 327 575
Leave M3 at junction 6 and turn left onto South Ringway which is the A30. Straight over first roundabout. At second roundabout turn left into Winchester Road. Proceed past ground on right to roundabout. Take fifth exit into Western Way. Ground on right.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Southern League Division One South13thJ.Waugh
1978-1979Southern League Division One South16thJ.Waugh
1979-1980Southern League Southern Division22ndE.Lisle/A.Taylor
1980-1981Southern League Southern Division14thE.Lisle/A.Taylor
1981-1982Southern League Southern Division12thE.Lisle/A.Taylor
1982-1983Southern League Southern Division One15thE.Lisle/A.Taylor
1983-1984Southern League Southern Division One3rdColin Stoker
 1984-1985Southern League Southern Division One1stColin Stoker
1985-1986Southern League Premier Division15thColin Stoker
1986-1987Southern League Premier Division16thGeoff White
1987-1988Isthmian League Premier Division22ndAlan Humphries
1988-1989Isthmian League Division One2ndTrevor Parker
1989-1990Isthmian League Premier Division8thTrevor Parker
1990-1991Isthmian League Premier Division18thTrevor Parker
1991-1992Isthmian League Premier Division14th Steve Williams
1992-1993Isthmian League Premier Division11thFred Callaghan
1993-1994Isthmian League Premier Division21stAlan Humphries
1994-1995Isthmian League Division One7thErnie Howe
1995-1996Isthmian League Division One9thErnie Howe
1996-1997Isthmian League Division One2ndErnie Howe
1997-1998Isthmian League Premier Division8thErnie Howe
1998-1999Isthmian League Premier Division8thErnie Howe
1999-2000Isthmian League Premier Division18thErnie Howe
2000-2001Isthmian League Premier Division3rdErnie Howe
2001-2002Isthmian League Premier Division18thErnie Howe
2002-2003Isthmian League Premier Division5thErnie Howe
2003-2004Isthmian League Premier Division14thErnie Howe
2004-2005Conference South6thErnie Howe
2005-2006Conference South19thErnie Howe
2006-2007Conference South19thFrancis Vines
2007-2008Conference South15thFrancis Vines
2008-2009Conference South18thFrank Gray
2009-2010Conference South15thFrank Gray
2010-2011Conference South13thFrank Gray
2001-2012Conference South5thFrank Gray

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!