Non-League Club Directory Logo

Bedworth United

Altrincham Club Crest image

Although football was played in Bedworth since 1896, senior clubs changed names and leagues but after the second world war, Bedworth Town emerged as the senior club and play in the Birmingham Combination, which changed names to The West Midlands (Regional) League in 1962.

In 1968 Bedworth Town became Bedworth United and in 1972, the club was voted into The Southern League Division Two North.  In a long and not very distinguished stay in the lower levels of the Southern league, the club have more than once battled to stay in the competition. However, the real club supporters fought successfully to keep the club alive and have been rewarded.

After forty years of Southern League football, which did include seven years in the Premier Division between 1982 and 1989, the club fought through some difficult seasons in the regional divisions, then, in 2012, won promotion back to the Southern Premier, through the play-offs after finishing in third place.


Club Factfile

The Oval, Miners Welfare Park, Coventry Road, Bedworth CV12 8NN
024 7631 4752
1.5 miles from M6 J3, take B4113 Coventry–Bedworth Road and after third set of traffic lights (Bedworth Leisure Centre). Ground 200 yards on right opposite cemetery. Coaches to park in Leisure Centre.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Southern League Division One North10thLen Harris
1979-1980Southern League Midland Division16thLen Harris
1980-1981Southern League Midland Division15thLen Harris
1981-1982Southern League Midland Division6thJohn Brady
1982-1983Southern League Premier Division5thJohn Brady
1983-1984Southern League Premier Division11thJohn Brady
1984-1985Southern League Premier Division12thJohn Peacock
1985-1986Southern League Premier Division10thJ.Hanna
1986-1987Southern League Premier Division12thJohn Brady
1987-1988Southern League Premier Division14thJohn Brady
1988-1989Southern League Premier Division22ndJohn Maspn
1989-1990Southern League Midland Division15thJimmy Holmes
1990-1991Southern League Midland Division13thBrendan Phillips
1991-1992Southern League Midland Division5thBrendan Phillips
1992-1993Southern League Midland Division6thBrendan Phillips
1993-1994Southern League Midland Division17thPaul Thomas
1994-1995Southern League Midland Division13thBilly Hollywood
1995-1996Southern League Midland Division3rdLes Green
1996-1997Southern League Midland Division5thDean Thomas
1997-1998Southern League Midland Division14thDean Thomas
1998-1999Southern League Midland Division16thBilly Hollywood
1999-2000Southern League Western Division15thBilly Hollywood
2000-2001Southern League Western Division16thBarry Bradder & Dave Grundy
2001-2002Southern League Western Division11thIan Drewitt
2002-2003Southern League Western Division18thIan Drewitt
2003-2004Southern League Western Division19thBilly Hollywood
2004-2005Southern League Western Division15thMark Hallam
2005-2006Southern League Western Division16thMark Hallam
2006-2007Southern League Midland Division15thMartin Sockett
2007-2008Southern League Midland Division15th
2008-2009Southern League Midland Division14th
2009-2010Southern League Midland Division16th
2010-2011Southern League Division One Central15thBernie Cope
2011-2012Southern League Division One Central3rdSteve Farmer
2012-2013Southern League Premier Division21stSteve Farmer
2013-2014Northern Premier League Div 1 South20thStuart Storer

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!