Non-League Club Directory Logo


Currently Playing In:

Southern League Premier Division

Altrincham Club Crest image

After formation in 1949, the North Devon club first competed in the Devon & Exeter League. Bideford were quickly admitted into The Western league and developed into one of the leagues strongest clubs.

A short spell in the Southern League in mid seventies underlined the geographical problems for players and travelling, so supporters of “The Robins‘ realized that perhaps being a power in the Western League was more beneficial than struggling to build a quality squad up to Southern League standards and happy to cope with the extra travelling.

A glorious spell at the beginning of the century saw Bideford celebrating as Western League champions five times in nine years and eventually, under the expert managerial guidance of Sean Joyce, Bideford took on the Southern League again and in their second year won promotion to The Premier Division as Division One South West Champions.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Bideford Town
The Sports Ground, Kingsley Road, Bideford EX39 2NG
01237 474 974
Exit M5 at J.27. A361 to Barnstaple. Turn left onto A39 to Bideford. 9 miles turn left into town. Ground on right hand side as entering town centre.
Record Attendance:
6,000 v Gloucester City - FA Cup 4th Qualifying Round
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Southern League Division One South & West 2011-12

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Western Football League2ndDudley Barry
1979-1980Western Football League10thBrian Perks
1980-1981Western Football League5thBrian Perks
 1981-1982Western Football League1stBrian Perks
 1982-1983Western Football League1stJohn Hore
1983-1984Western Football League6thJohn Hore
1984-1985Western Football League2ndJohn Hore
1985-1986Western Football League3rdKeith Bowker
1986-1987Western Football League6thKeith Bowker
1987-1988Western Football League10thRichard Twigg
1988-1989Western Football League16thJ.Hargreaves
1989-1990Western Football League16thRichard Gray
1990-1991Western Football League12thRichard Gray
1991-1992Western Football League4thBrian Shannon
1992-1993Western Football League14thPeter Buckingham
1993-1994Western Football League9thPeter Buckingham
1994-1995Western Football League15thPeter Buckingham
1995-1996Western Football League6thPeter Buckingham
1996-1997Western Football League12thPeter Buckingham
1997-1998Western Football League13thDean Edwards
1998-1999Western Football League17thDean Edwards
1999-2000Western Football League13thSean Joyce
2000-2001Western Football League5thSean Joyce
 2001-2002Western Football League1stSean Joyce
2002-2003Western Football League3rdSean Joyce
 2003-2004Western Football League1stSean Joyce
 2004-2005Western Football League1stSean Joyce
 2005-2006Western Football League1stSean Joyce
2006-2007Western Football League4thSean Joyce
2007-2008Western Football League6thSean Joyce
2008-2009Western Football League6thSean Joyce
 2009-2010Western Football League1stSean Joyce
2010-2011Southern League Division One South & West10thSean Joyce
 2011-2012Southern League Division One South & West1stSean Joyce
2012-2013Southern League Premier Division20thSean Joyce
2013-2014Southern League Premier Division8thSean Joyce

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!