Non-League Club Directory Logo

Biggleswade Town

After formation in 1874, Biggleswade Town competed in the Biggleswade & District and Bedford & District Leagues before joining the more competitive South Midlands League in
1951. After just four seasons, eight years were spent in The Eastern Counties League and seven in the United Counties League before settling down to compete with The South Midlands clubs once again.

In the sixteen years before the Spartan League merged with the South Midlands clubs. ’The Waders’ spent all but four seasons in the premier division but in the more competitive Spartans South Midlands Premier Division the club initially found themselves under pressure to compete with the league leaders.

However, under manager Chris Nunn, Biggleswade Town supporters were thrilled to move ahead of ‘United’ their local neighbours by gaining promotion to The Southern League as Spartan South Midlands champions in 2009.


Club Factfile

The Carlsberg Stadium, Langford Road, Biggleswade SG18 9JJ
01767 315 547
From the south – up the A1, past the first roundabout (Homebase) signposted Biggleswade. At next roundabout (Sainsburys) turn right onto A6001. As you approach the Town Centre, go straight over the mini roundabout following signs for Langford (Teal Road). At traffic lights, turn right (still heading towards Langford). Continue along Hitchin Street over two mini roundabouts and as you pass under the A1, the ground entrance is 200 yards on the right. From the north – exit A1 at the Sainsburys roundabout and follow instructions as above.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1981-1982South Midlands Premier Division12th
1982-1983South Midlands Premier Division15th
1983-1984South Midlands Division One13th
1984-1985South Midlands Division One10th
1985-1986South Midlands Division One8th
1986-1987South Midlands Division One2nd
1987-1988South Midlands Premier Division15thRoger Tomlin
1988-1989South Midlands Premier Division15thBrian Albone
1989-1990South Midlands Premier Division5thFrances Graves
1990-1991South Midlands Premier Division3rdFrances Graves
1991-1992South Midlands Premier Division3rdFrances Graves
1992-1993South Midlands Premier Division7thK.Davidson
1993-1994South Midlands Premier Division3rdK.Davidson
1994-1995South Midlands Premier Division7thK.Davidson
1995-1996South Midlands Premier Division10thK.Davidson
1996-1997Spartan South Midlands Premier Division15thD.Earl
1997-1998Spartan South Midlands Premier Div. North12thDavid Northfield
1998-1999Spartan South Midlands Senior Division5thDavid Northfield
1999-2000Spartan South Midlands Senior Division4thDavid Northfield
2000-2001Spartan South Midlands Premier Division14thDavid Northfield
2001-2002Spartan South Midlands Premier Division9thDavid Northfield
2002-2003Spartan South Midlands Premier Division11thDavid Northfield
2003-2004Spartan South Midlands Premier Division15thDavid Northfield
2004-2005Spartan South Midlands Premier Division10thDavid Northfield
2005-2006Spartan South Midlands Premier Division15thDarren Croft
2006-2007Spartan South Midlands Premier Division18thJon Mills
2007-2008Spartan South Midlands Premier Division3rdChris Nunn
 2008-2009Spartan South Midlands Premier Division1stChris Nunn
2009-2010Southern League Division One Midlands12thChris Nunn
2010-2011Southern League Division One Central4thChris Nunn
2011-2012Southern League Division One Central8thChris Nunn
2012-2013Southern League Division One CentralChris Nunn

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!