Non-League Club Directory Logo

Bishop Sutton

Currently Playing In:

Western League premier Division


‘The Bishops’ are one of The West of England’s younger clubs who were formed in 1977 and started as a youth club in the Weston & District Youth League. This led to senior football in The Bristol & Avon and then, until 1991 The Somerset Senior League.

As a Western League club for twenty two seasons, development has been steady.  A gradual improvement over the first seven seasons in Division One brought the Championship and well earned promotion in 1997 under the leadership of Manager Chris Mountford.

The Premier Division proved a tough proposition and for eight seasons under managers Mountford and Tony Cornelious, the club did well to retain their Premier membership but after eleven campaigns at this level a top ten position had not been achieved.

In 2008 Lee Lashenko took over as manager and in his second season 4th place was achieved. Three more campaigns of challenging at the top of The Western Premier Division were highlighted by the championship in 2013.


Club Factfile

Lakeview, Wick Road, Bishop Sutton, Bristol BS39 5XN
01275 333 097
On main A368 Bath to Weston super Mare road, behind Butchers Arms public house.
Record Attendance:
400 v Bristol City
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Western League Division One 1997-1998

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1991-1992Western League Division One13thGraham Bird
1992-1993Western League Division One13thGraham Bird
1993-1994Western League Division One12thMartin Finn
1994-1995Western League Division One8thChris Mountford
1995-1996Western League Division One4thChris Mountford
1996-1997Western League Division One5thChris Mountford
 1997-1998Western League Division One1stChris Mountford
1998-1999Western League Premier Division15thChris Mountford
1999-2000Western League Premier Division12thChris Mountford
2000-2001Western League Premier Division17thTony Cornelious
2001-2002Western League Premier Division15thTony Cornelious
2002-2003Western League Premier Division12thTony Cornelious
2003-2004Western League Premier Division16thTony Cornelious
2004-2005Western League Premier Division18thN.Williams & R.Chaffy
2005-2006Western League Premier Division16thKeith Brown
2006-2007Western League Premier Division21stKeith Brown
2007-2008Western League Premier Division19thMark Garland
2008-2009Western League Premier Division15thLee Lashenko
2009-2010Western League Premier Division4thLee Lashenko
2010-2011Western League Premier Division5thLee Lashenko
2011-2012Western League Premier Division6thLee Lashenko
 2012-2013Western League Premier Division1stLee Lashenko
2013-2014Western League Premier Division19thDave Payne

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!