Non-League Club Directory Logo

Bishops Cleeve

Altrincham Club Crest image

Not many successful football clubs emerge from rural areas, but Bishop’s Cleeve, who were formed in 1892 and originally played in the Cheltenham and Northern Gloucestershire Leagues, have worked hard to make their way up the Non-League Pyramid.

Joining the Hellenic League in1983, ’The Villagers’ found it difficult to remain at Premier Division level, but under long serving manager Paul Collicutt the club regained senior status in 2001.Then five years later, after improving their top ten placing every year, Southern League membership was achieved as Hellenic League runners-up.

Having moved from the MIdland area Division One to the South West Division, the club competes with many old rivals and consolidation at their highest ever level is being steadily achieved.


Club Factfile

Kayte Lane, Bishop's Cleeve, Cheltenham GL52 3PD
01242 676 166
From Cheltenham take A435 towards Evesham. Pass racecourse, take right at traffic lights then first left into Kayte Lane. Ground 1⁄2 mile on left.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1983-1984Hellenic League Division One4thDavid Walker
1984-1985Hellenic League Division One4thDavid Walker
1985-1986Hellenic League Division One3rdDavid Walker
 1986-1987Hellenic League Division One1stDavid Walker
1987-1988Hellenic League Premier Division16thDavid Walker
1988-1989Hellenic League Premier Division10thT.Bayliffe
1989-1990Hellenic League Premier Division15thJ.Davies
1990-1991Hellenic League Premier Division14thJ.Davies
1991-1992Hellenic League Premier Division18thJ.Davies
1992-1993Hellenic League Division One5thDavid Lewis
1993-1994Hellenic League Division One13thDavid Lewis
1994-1995Hellenic League Division One12thDavid Lewis
1995-1996Hellenic League Division One13thDavid Lewis
1996-1997Hellenic League Division One12thDavid Lewis
1997-1998Hellenic League Division One12thPaul Collicutt
1998-1999Hellenic League Division One5thPaul Collicutt
1999-2000Hellenic League Division One5thPaul Collicutt
2000-2001Hellenic League Division One West2ndPaul Collicutt
2001-2002Hellenic League Premier Division10thPaul Collicutt
2002-2003Hellenic League Premier Division9thPaul Collicutt
2003-2004Hellenic League Premier Division3rdPaul Collicutt
2004-2005Hellenic League Premier Division3rdPaul Collicutt
2005-2006Hellenic League Premier Division2ndPaul Collicutt
2006-2007Southern League Division One Midlands13thPaul Collicutt
2007-2008Southern League Division One Midlands12thPaul Collicutt
2008-2009Southern League Division One S & W18thPaul Collicutt
2009-2010Southern League Division One S & W11thPaul Collicutt
2010-2011Southern League Division One S & W15thPaul Collicutt
2011-2012Southern League Division One S & W11thAlex Sykes
2012-2013Southern League Division One S & W21stAlex Sykes
2013-2014Southern League Division One S & W20thChris Burns

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!