Non-League Club Directory Logo

Bishops Stortford

Altrincham Club Crest image

Bishop’s Stortford Football Club was formed in 1874 and for sixty years the club moved around the local leagues, competing in The East Herts, Stansted & District, Herts County and The Herts & Essex Border competitions before settling in The Spartan League between 1929 and 1951.

‘The Bishops’ followed a route favoured by many clubs in the home counties by moving on to The Delphian League (1951-1963), The Athenian League (1963-1973) and then The Isthmian League until they qualified for The Conference South in 2004.

Two Wembley triumphs will always be highlights in the club’s history, as The FA Amateur Cup was won by beating Ilford 4-1 in 1974 and The FA Trophy with a 2-1 result against Sutton United in 1981. The FA Cup has also provided the club with some great moments, especially in‘the eighties’ when the First Round Proper was reached five times in six years.

After two seasons in the Blue Square North, the Hertfordshire club will be returning to Conference South, which will please all concerned. With less travelling, their already sound consolidation at this level of Conference football could lead to a promotion challenge.


Club Factfile

Woodside Park, Dunmow Road, Bishop’s Stortford, Herts CM23 5RG
01279 306 456
Woodside Park is situated 1/4 mile from Junction 8 of M11. Follow A1250 towards Bishop's Stortford Town Centre, entrance to the ground is signposted through Woodside Park Industrial Estate.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Isthmian League Division One4thRon Duke
1979-1980Isthmian League Division One4thRon Duke
 1980-1981Isthmian League Division One1stTrevor Harvey
1981-1982Isthmian League Premier15thTrevor Harvey
1982-1983Isthmian League Premier13thTrevor Harvey
1983-1984Isthmian League Premier11thTrevor Harvey
1984-1985Isthmian League Premier16thTrevor Harvey
1985-1986Isthmian League Premier7thT.Coakley
1986-1987Isthmian League Premier10thT.Coakley
1987-1988Isthmian League Premier13thJohn Radford
1988-1989Isthmian League Premier7thJohn Radford
1989-1990Isthmian League Premier9thJohn Radford
1990-1991Isthmian League Premier13thJohn Radford
1991-1992Isthmian League Premier22ndJohn Radford
1992-1993Isthmian League Division One5thJohn Radford
 1993-1994Isthmian League Division One1stJohn Radford
1994-1995Isthmian League Premier19thJohn Radford
1995-1996Isthmian League Premier12thJohn Radford
1996-1997Isthmian League Premier19thDave Edwards
1997-1998Isthmian League Premier19thDave Edwards
1998-1999Isthmian League Premier21stDave Edwards/Terry Back
1999-2000Isthmian League Division One11thSteve Wheeler
2000-2001Isthmian League Division One4thMartin Hayes
2001-2002Isthmian League Division One 2ndMartin Hayes
2002-2003Isthmian League Premier13thMartin Hayes
2003-2004Isthmian League Premier11thMartin Hayes
2004-2005Conference South10thMartin Hayes
2005-2006Conference South15thMartin Hayes
2006-2007Conference South10thMartin Hayes
2007-2008Conference South10thMartin Hayes
2008-2009Conference South9thMartin Hayes
2009-2010Conference South18thMark Simpson
2010-2011Conference South16thMark Simpson
2011-2012Conference North10thIan Walker
2012-2013Conference North17thRod Stringer
2013-2014Conference South

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!