Non-League Club Directory Logo

Blyth Spartans

Altrincham Club Crest image

Not many non-league football clubs in The North East risk playing in leagues that force them to travel away from their local ‘family’ of clubs. However, although ‘Spartans’ started in The Northumberland League followed by The Northern Alliance, North Eastern and Northern Combination, they joined The Midland League for two seasons in 1958 before returning to The Northern Counties and then the famous Northern League from 1962-1994. They were then considered very brave when moving up to The Northern Premier League with the prospect of much more traveling.

Achieving ten Northern League Championships in their last fifteen seasons probably encouraged the move in 1994 which was immediately followed by promotion, as champions from The Northern Premier League Division One.  The tenth campaign in
The N.P.L. Premier Division brought The Championship and eight seasons were enjoyed in The Blue Square North until relegation was suffered in 2012.

However, the name of Blyth Spartans Football Club will always be remembered as The Non-League Club that featured in The F.A.Cup 6th Round draw in 1977-1978 - it was a magical time for non-league football !


Club Factfile

Croft Park, Blyth, Northumberland NE24 3JE
01670 352 373
From the Tyne Tunnel, take the A19 signposted MORPETH. At second roundabout take the A189 signposted ASHINGTON. From A189 take A1061 signposted BLYTH. At 1st roundabout follow signs A1061 to BLYTH. Go straight across next two roundabouts following TOWN CENTRE/SOUTH BEECH. At next roundabout turn left onto A193 go straight across next roundabout, and at the next turn right into Plessey Rd and the ground is situated on your left. Team coach should the turn left into William St (3rd left) and reverse up Bishopton St to the designated parking spot.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Northern League2ndBrian Slane
1978-1979Northern League4thBrian Slane
 1979-1980Northern League1stJack Marks
 1980-1981Northern League1stJack Marks
 1981-1982Northern League1stBobby Elwell
 1982-1983Northern League1stBobby Elwell
 1983-1984Northern League1stBobby Elwell
1984-1985Northern League2ndP.Feenan
1985-1986Northern League4thP.Feenan
 1986-1987Northern League1stJ.Pearson
 1987-1988Northern League1stJ.Pearson
1988-1989Northern League9thDavid Clarke
1989-1990Northern League9thTommy Dixon
1990-1991Northern League Premier Division3rdR.Walton
1991-1992Northern League Premier Division6thR.Walton
1992-1993Northern League Premier Division4thNigel Walker
1993-1994Northern League Premier Division2ndPeter Freeman
 1994-1995Northern Premier Division One1stHarry Dunn
1995-1996Northern Premier Premier Division6thHarry Dunn
1996-1997Northern Premier Premier Division7thPeter Harrison
1997-1998Northern Premier Premier Division18thJohn Burridge
1998-1999Northern Premier Premier Division14thAlan Shoulder
1999-2000Northern Premier Premier Division14thJohn Gamble
2000-2001Northern Premier Premier Division14thJohn Charlton
2001-2002Northern Premier Premier Division12thJohn Charlton
2002-2003Northern Premier Premier Division19thJohn Charlton
2003-2004Northern Premier Premier Division12thPaul Baker
 2004-2005Northern Premier Premier Division1stPaul Baker/Harry Dunn
2005-2006Conference North7thHarry Dunn
2006-2007Conference North7thHarry Dunn
2007-2008Conference North18thHarry Dunn
2008-2009Conference North15thHarry Dunn
2009-2010Conference North13thMick Tait
2010-2011Conference North9thMick Tait
2011-2012Conference North21stSteve Cuggy
2012-2013Northern Premier Premier Division16thTommy Cassidy
2013-2014Northern Premier Premier Division8thTom Wade

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!