Non-League Club Directory Logo

Boreham Wood

Altrincham Club Crest image

Being formed in 1948, a relatively young club in North London, Boreham Wood were faced with competition from successful and glamourous clubs all with Wembley experience such as Enfield, Hendon and Wealdstone but looking at the progress all four have made, perhaps Boreham Woods steady achievements have been comparatively successful.

A traditional path through the Mid Herts, Parthenon, Spartan and Athenian Leagues led to Isthmian membership in 1974. This proved a difficult challenge and after continual battles to avoid relegation, the drop to Division One came in 1982.

Boreham Wood Football Club have always appeared to give their managers a chance to prove themselves and some well respected names have been in charge for at least three seasons.  It was Bobby Makin who eventually took the club back to The Premier Division in 1995 and under the same manager, three excellent FA Cup runs were enjoyed between 1996-1998.

A period of instability saw Boreham Wood experience two relegations, followed by two return promotions, then, after a two year spell in The Southern League, the club settled down again in The Isthmian Premier under Steve Cook and then the returning Ian Allinson, under whom ‘The Wood’ were promoted into The Blue Square South after the Play-Offs in 2010.


Club Factfile

Meadow Park, Broughinge Road, Boreham Wood WD6 5AL
0208 953 5097
Leave A1 at A5135 and follow A5135 towards Borehamwood. Cross two mini roundabouts then at large roundabout turn right (second exit) into Brook Road then take first right after car park for Broughinge Road.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Isthmian League Premier Division15thMichael.Lennon
1978-1979Isthmian League Premier Division15thMichael Lennon
1979-1980Isthmian League Premier Division15thMichael Lennon
1980-1981Isthmian League Premier Division21stMichael Lennon
1981-1982Isthmian League Premier Division22ndMichael Lennon
1982-1983Isthmian League Division One6thTerry Dyson
1983-1984Isthmian League Division One5thTerry Dyson
1984-1985Isthmian League Division One17thTerry Dyson
1985-1986Isthmian League Division One9thJohn Drabwell
1986-1987Isthmian League Division One8thJohn Drabwell
1987-1988Isthmian League Division One4thJohn Drabwell
1988-1989Isthmian League Division One11thJohn Drabwell
1989-1990Isthmian League Division One7thJohn Drabwell
1990-1991Isthmian League Division One14thTrevor Harvey
1991-1992Isthmian League Division One4thTrevor Harvey
1992-1993 Isthmian League Division One9thTrevor Harvey
1993-1994Isthmian League Division One10thBobby Makin
 1994-1995Isthmian League Division One1stBobby Makin
1995-1996Isthmian League Premier Division3rdBobby Makin
1996-1997Isthmian League Premier Division10thBobby Makin
1997-1998Isthmian League Premier Division2ndBobby Makin
1998-1999Isthmian League Premier Division14thBobby Makin
1999-2000Isthmian League Premier Division21stBobby Makin/Colin Payne
 2000-2001Isthmian League Division One1stGraham Roberts
2001-2002Isthmian League Premier Division15thMicky Engwell
2002-2003Isthmian League Premier Division22ndMicky Engwell
2003-2004Isthmian League Division One9thMicky Engwell
2004-2005Southern League Division One East7thIan Allinson
 2005-2006Southern League Division One East1stIan Allinson
2006-2007Isthmian League Premier Division7thSteve Cook
2007-2008Isthmian League Premier Division19thSteve Cook
2008-2009Isthmian League Premier Division18thIan Allinson
2009-2010Isthmian League Premier Division4thIan Allinson
2010-2011Conference South14thIan Allinson
2011-2012Conference South8thIan Allinson
2012-2013Conference South9thIan Allinson

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!