Non-League Club Directory Logo

Braintree Town

Altrincham Club Crest image

The original football club was founded in 1894 as Manor Works F.C. but a long and happy link with the local Crittal metal window company brought about a change of name to Crittall Athletic and the nickname of ‘The Iron’. A change of headquarters from Spaldings Meadow to Cressing Road followed as the business and the football club developed.  The club became founder members of The Eastern Counties League in 1935 after competing in The North Essex and Suffolk Border League and The Spartan League.  Then, after the second world war they played in The London League until 1952, The Eastern Counties League 1952-1955, The Suffolk Border League (1955-1964), The Greater London (1964-1966) and The Metropolitan League (1966-1970). With The Crittall company’s involvement lessening, the Football Club developed a closer identity with the Town and was re-named Braintree & Crittall Athletic in 1968. The Eastern Counties League was rejoined in 1970 and steady ground improvements have been added regularly as the results on the field have steadily lifted ‘The Iron’ to become one of the country’s top non-league clubs in the ‘pyramid’, as can be seen below.


Club Factfile

The Cressing Road Stadium, Clockhouse Way, Braintree CM7 3RD
01376 345 617
Leave M11 at junction 8A (for Stansted Airport) and follow A120 towards Braintree and Colchester for 17 miles. At Gallows Corner roundabout (with WestDrive Kia on your right) take first exit into Cressing Road. Clockhouse Way and the entrance to the ground are three quarters of a mile on the left and are clearly sign-posted.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Eastern Counties League8thPaul Devine
1979-1980Eastern Counties League22ndMike Kemp
1980-1981Eastern Counties League17thMike Kemp
1981-1982Eastern Counties League19thMike Kemp
1982-1983Eastern Counties League18thChris Symes
 1983-1984Eastern Counties League1stChris Symes
 1984-1985Eastern Counties League1stChris Symes
1985-1986Eastern Counties League6thChris Symes
1986-1987Eastern Counties League2ndChris Symes
1987-1988Eastern Counties League2ndChris Symes
1988-1989Eastern Counties League2ndDave Ward
1989-1990Eastern Counties League3rdDave Ward
1990-1991Eastern Counties League2ndBrian Honeywood /Peter Collins
1991-1992Southern League Southern Division4thBrian Honeywood /Peter Collins
1992-1993Southern League Southern Division9thFrank Bishop
1993-1994Southern League Southern Division13th Frank Bishop
1994-1995Southern League Southern Division14thFrank Bishop
1995-1996Southern League Southern Division5thFrank Bishop/Peter Collins
1996-1997Isthmian League Division Three2ndKeith Martin
1997-1998Isthmian League Division Two2ndTony Hall
1998-1999Isthmian League Division One4thTony Hall
1999-2000Isthmian League Division One14thRichie Powling
2000-2001Isthmian League Division One3rdBen Embury
2001-2002Isthmian League Premier Division4thBen Embery
2002-2003Isthmian League Premier Division16thBen Embery
2003-2004Isthmian League Premier Division23rdBen Embery
2004-2005Isthmian League Premier Division4thGeorge Borg
 2005-2006Isthmian League Premier Division1stGeorge Borg
2006-2007Conference South3rdGeorge Borg
2007-2008Conference South5thGorrge Borg
2008-2009Conference South14thLee Patterson
2009-2010Conference South7thRobbie Garvey
 2010-2011Conference South1stRod Stringer
2011-2012Conference Premier12thAlan Devonshire
2012-2013Conference Premier9thAlan Devonshire
2013-2014Conference Premier

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!