Non-League Club Directory Logo


After formation in 1885, Bridport Football Club worked their way through the local leagues.
Competing in The Dorset, South Dorset, West Dorset and Perry Street Leagues before becoming founder members of The Dorset Combination in 1957.

Four years later the club joined The Western League, where they played until their unfortunate resignation during season 1983-1984 proceeded a return to the Combination.
Four outstanding seasons, with three consecutive Championships, lifted club morale and ‘The Bees’ were welcomed back to The Western League.

Six consistent campaigns ended in promotion to The Premier Division but the club found it difficult to settle, only managing two top ten finishes before slipping back to Division One in 2005.

Six seasons later, under a second spell of management from Trevor Senior, Bridport celebrated a return to Premier football, where the club is working hard to consolidate at the higher level.


Club Factfile


Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Western Premier Division5thM.McGowan
1978-1979Western Premier Division10thR.Hanford
1979-1980Western Premier Division19thM.Gadsby
1980-1981Western Premier Division11thM.Gadsby
1981-1982Western Premier Division12thM.Gadsby
1982-1983Western Premier Division15thT.Cotton
1983-1984Dorset Combination7thT.Cotton
1984-1985Dorset Combination3rd
 1985-1986Dorset Combination1st
 1986-1987Dorset Combination1st
 1987-1988Dorset Combination1st
1988-1989Western League Division One3rdBarry Williams
1989-1990Western League Division One4thBarry Williams
1990-1991Western League Division One6thDerek Walkey
1991-1992Western League Division One9thDerek Walkey
1992-1993Western League Division One10thDerek Walkey
1993-1994Western League Division One2ndGeoff Joy
1994-1995Western League Premier Division13thGeoff Joy
1995-1996Western League Premier Division11thGeoff Joy
1996-1997Western League Premier Division10thPhil Simkin
1997-1998Western League Premier Division11thPhil Simkin
1998-1999Western League Premier Division8thTrevor Senior
1999-2000Western League Premier Division8thTrevor Senior
2000-2001Western League Premier Division13thDavid KItely
2001-2002Western League Premier Division17thDerek Walkey
2002-2003Western League Premier Division14thPeter Conning
2003-2004Western League Premier Division12thPeter Conning
2004-2005Western League Premier Division19thBob Russell
2005-2006Western League Division One6thKevin Donovan
2006-2007Western League Division One11thPaul Hammond
2007-2008Western League Division One18thRoy Davies/Mark Lock
2008-2009Western League Division One13thIan Hutchinson
2009-2010Western League Division One10thIan Hutchinson
2010-2011Western League Division One3rdTrevor Senior
2011-2012Western League Premier Division14thTrevor Senior
2012-2013Western League Premier Division14thTrevor Senior
2013-2014Western League Premier Division12thTrevor Senior

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!