Non-League Club Directory Logo

Brigg Town

Altrincham Club Crest image

Having played local football from their formation in 1864 until joining the Midland League in 1976, Brigg Town have steadily worked their way up the non-league pyramid.

Promotion from from the Midland Counties League took ‘The Zebras’ into The Northern Counties West competition in 1982 and the last eight seasons of the twenty two spent in this league saw them competing at the top of the table. This pressure eventually brought promotion under the guidance of long serving manager Ralph Clayton, with four seasons in the top four being rewarded with promotion in 2004.

Life in The Northern Premier League hasn’t been easy but the club has a record of consistency and Brigg Town have established themselves in The Division One South.


Club Factfile

The Hawthorns, Hawthorn Avenue, Brigg, South Humberside DN20 8PG
01652 651 605
From M180 (Exit 4 - Scunthorpe East) A18 to Brigg. Leave Town via Wrawby Road, following signs for Airport and Grimsby. 100 metres after Sir John Nelthorpe Lower School, and immediately after bus stop/shelter, turn left into Recreation ground (signposted “Football Ground” ) and follow road into club car park. SAT NAV postcode DN20 8DT

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Midland Counties League Premier Division9thJ.Lakin
1979-1980 Midland Counties League Premier Division9thJ.Lakin
1980-1981Midland Counties League Premier Division17thJ.Lakin
1981-1982Midland Counties League Premier Division15thP.Jackson
1982-1983Northern Counties East Division One South13th P.Jackson
1983-1984Northern Counties East Division Two South4thJ.Wilkinson
1984-1985Northern Counties East Division One Central2ndJ.Wilkinson
1985-1986Northern Counties East Division One12thJ.Wilkinson
1986-1987Northern Counties East Premier Division18thJ.Wilkinson
1987-1988Northern Counties East Premier Division15thJ.Wilkinson
1988-1989Northern Counties East Premier Division14thIan Whyte
1989-1990Northern Counties East Premier Division10thIan Whyte
1990-1991Northern Counties East Premier Division5thIan Whyte
1991-1992Northern Counties East Premier Division8thIan Whyte
1992-1993Northern Counties East Premier Division6thRalph Clayton
1993-1994Northern Counties East Premier Division5thRalph Clayton
1994-1995Northern Counties East Premier Division11thRalph Clayton
1995-1996Northern Counties East Premier Division7thRalph Clayton
1996-1997Northern Counties East Premier Division3rdRalph Clayton
1997-1998Northern Counties East Premier Division4thRalph Clayton
1998-1999Northern Counties East Premier Division3rdRalph Clayton
1999-2000Northern Counties East Premier Division2ndRalph Clayton
 2000-2001Northern Counties East Premier Division1stRalph Clayton
2001-2002Northern Counties East Premier Division2ndRalph Clayton
2002-2003Northern Counties East Premier Division2ndRalph Clayton
2003-2004Northern Counties East Premier Division3rdRalph Clayton
2004-2005Northern Premier League Division One South8thDave McLean
2005-2006 Northern Premier League Division One South8thDave McLean
2006-2007Northern Premier League Division One South17thDave McLean
2007-2008Northern Premier League Division One South16thDave McLean
2008-2009Northern Premier League Division One South20thSteve Housham
2009-2010Northern Premier League Division One South15thSteve Housham
2010-2011Northern Premier League Division One South4thSteve Housham
2011-2012Northern Premier League Division One South17thPeter Daniel
2012-2013Northern Premier League Division One South13th Michael Gray
2013-2014Northern Premier League Division One South18thMichael Gray

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!