Non-League Club Directory Logo


Altrincham Club Crest image

For a club formed in1945,  Burscough worked hard to rise through five leagues and reach the top of non-league football by 2007. Competing initially in The Liverpool County Combination and The Lancashire Combination, a place in The Cheshire County League was achieved in 1970.

The North West Counties League changed the face of non-league football in the area and from 1982 to 1998 Burscough competed in their Division One apart from dropping down a division for two years in 1990.

John Davison, the ex-captain of the brilliantly successful Altrincham club, took over as manager in 1995 and he obviously brought the winning habit with him, as Burscough competed at the top of the division for three years and won promotion as runners-up in 1998.

Northern Premier League Premier Division football proved a tough challenge for ‘The Linnetts’ but in 2007 the championship was won and promotion gained to The Blue Square North. Unfortunately, fortunes have dipped since then, but having sampled life as a Conference club Burscough will be aiming to return.


Club Factfile

Bobby Langton Way, Mart Lane, Burscough, Ormskirk, Lancashire L40 0SD
01704 893 237
M6 to J27. Follow signs for ‘Parbold’ (A5209), carry on through Newburgh into Burscough passing Briars Hall Hotel on left. Turn right at second mini-roundabout into Junction Lane (signposted ‘Burscough & Martin Mere’) into village, over canal. Take second left into Mart Lane to ground at end.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Cheshire County League Divison One5thGeorge Rooney
1979-1980 Cheshire County League Divison One5thGeorge Rooney
1980-1981Cheshire County League Divison One16thCliff Roberts
1981-1982Cheshire County League Divison One3rdB.Griffiths
 1982-1983North West Counties Division One1stM.McKenzie
1983-1984North West Counties Division One4thM.McKenzie
1984-1985North West Counties Division One3rdM.McKenzie
1985-1986North West Counties Division One9thM.McKenzie
1986-1987North West Counties Division One12thRay Coleman
1987-1988North West Counties Division One10thMike Ryeman
1988-1989North West Counties Division One10thAlbie Donnelly
1989-1990North West Counties Division One17thMike Scott
1990-1991North West Counties Division Two9thRussell Perkins
1991-1992North West Counties Division Two4thRussell Perkins
1992-1993North West Counties Division One10thRussell Perkins
1993-1994North West Counties Division One3rdRussell Perkins
1994-1995North West Counties Division One5thRussell Perkins
1995-1996North West Counties Division One6thJohn Davison
1996-1997North West Counties Division One5thJohn Davison
1997-1998North West Counties Division One2ndJohn Davison
1998-1999Northern Premier League Division One7thJohn Davison
1999-2000Northern Premier League Division One2ndJohn Davison
2000-2001Northern Premier League Premier Division15thJohn Davison
2001-2002Northern Premier League Premier Division18thJohn Davison
2002-2003Northern Premier League Premier Division18thShaun Teale
2003-2004Northern Premier League Premier Division19thMike Marsh
2004-2005Northern Premier League Premier Division6thMike Marsh
2005-2006 Northern Premier League Premier Division7thDerek Goulding
 2006-2007Northern Premier League Premier Division1stLiam Watson
2007-2008Blue Square North8thLiam Watson
2008-2009Blue Square North21stJoey Dunn
2009-2010Northern Premier League Premier Division16thAndy Gray
2010-2011Northern Premier League Premier Division19thAndy Gray
2011-2012Northern Premier League Premier Division22ndChris Stammers
2012-2013Northern Premier League Division One North11thDerek Goulding
2013-2014Northern Premier League Division One North14thGary Wright

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!