Non-League Club Directory Logo

Burton Albion

The town of Burton had already been represented by Swifts, Town, United and Wanderers before Burton Albion was launched in 1950, playing in The Birmingham & District Football League.

In 1958 the club moved into Eton Park, a smart new ground, suitable for their promotion into The Southern League. Being situated in the Midlands, ‘The Brewers’ were comfortable either in The Northern Premier or Southern Leagues and in 2005 after moving into the brand new Pirelli Stadium, the club had obviously set their sights on further progress up the non-league ladder.

When Burton Albion left The Southern League to join their Northern rivals in 1979 they set out on a consistent run in the top seven, but after a drop into sixteenth place in 1988, there was a move back to The Southern competition, where a period of inconsistency was eventually halted by new manager Nigel Clough. After two consecutive finishes as runners up in The Southern Premier, the young manager’s squad returned to The Northern Premier and in 2002 won promotion to The Conference as champions without their manager who had earned a move up to Derby County.

It took seven seasons of steady improvement and team building to become champions, when in 2009, Burton Albion qualified for a move into The Football league. They have worked hard to settle and with steady improvement, appear to be comfortable in their senior surroundings.


Club Factfile


Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Southern League Division One North3rdPhil Walker
1978-1979Southern League Division One North8thPhil Walker
1979-1980Northern Premeir League4thIan Storey-Moore
1980-1981Northern Premeir League6thIan Storey-Moore
1981-1982Northern Premeir League7thNeil Warnock
1982-1983Northern Premeir League3rdNeil Warnock
1983-1984Northern Premeir League5thNeil Warnock
1984-1985Northern Premeir League6thNeil Warnock
1985-1986Northern Premeir League5thNeil Warnock
1986-1987Northern Premeir League12thBrian Fidler
1987-1988Southern League Premier Division16thBrian Fidler
1988-1989Southern League Premier Division8thRobert Hope
1989-1990Southern League Premier Division4thChris Wright
1990-1991Southern League Premier Division7thSteve Powell
1991-1992Southern League Premier Division10thSteve Powell
1992-1993Southern League Premier Division8thSteve Powell
1993-1994Southern League Premier Division11thBrain Kenning
1994-1995Southern League Premier Division3rdJohn Barton
1995-1996Southern League Premier Division16thJohn Barton
1996-1997Southern League Premier Division6thJohn Barton
1997-1998Southern League Premier Division3rdJohn Barton
1998-1999Southern League Premier Division13thNigel Clough
1999-2000Southern League Premier Division2ndNigel Clough
2000-2001Southern League Premier Division2ndNigel Clough
 2001-2002Northern Premier League Premier Division1stNigel Clough
2002-2003Conference Premier16thNigel Clough
2003-2004Conference Premier14thNigel Clough
2004-2005Conference Premier16thNigel Clough
2005-2006Conference Premier9thNigel Clough
2006-2007Conference Premier6thNigel Clough
2007-2008Conference Premier5thNigel Clough
 2008-2009Conference Premier1stNigel Clough/Roy McFarland
2009-2010Football League Division Two13thPaul Peschisolido
2010-2011Football League Division Two19thPaul Peschisolido
2011-2012Football League Division Two17thPaul Peschisolido
2012-2013Football League Division Two4thGary Rowett
2012-2013Football League Division TwoGary Rowett

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!