Non-League Club Directory Logo


Following formation in 1877, Buxton’s first competitive football was played in The Combination (1891-99) before moving on to The Manchester League (1899-1932) and The Cheshire County League (1932-1973).

The senior and most attractive northern competition was undoubtedly The Northern Premier League, with whom Buxton qualified to join in 1973 and membership continued for twenty six years.

Two disastrous seasons saw ‘The Bucks’ relegated from Division One in 1998 and then drop back to the North East Counties the following season. It took four more years to prepare the club for a promotion challenge in the top half of the table, but it was manager Nicky Law who masterminded a great return with consecutive championship seasons that took them back to The Northern Premier League Premier Division in 2008, since when the club have steadily consolidated under the guidance of John Reed.


Club Factfile

The Silverlands, Buxton, Derbyshire SK17 6QH
01298 231 197
FROM STOCKPORT (A6): Turn left at first roundabout after dropping down the hill into the town, turn right at next roundabout, right at traffic lights (London Road pub) to Buxton Market Place. After two sets of pedestrian lights turn right at Royles shop then turn immediate left and follow road approx 500 metres to ground (opposite police station.) FROM BAKEWELL (A6): Turn left at roundabout on to Dale Road and follow road to traffic lights then as above. FROM MACCLESFIELD/CONGLETON/LEEK: Follow road to Burbage traffic lights and take right fork in the road at the Duke of York pub (Macclesfield Road.) Then at next traffic lights turn left (London Road pub) and follow as above. FROM ASHBOURNE (A515): Go straight on at first traffic lights (London Road pub) and follow directions as above.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1979-1980Northern Premier League6thColin Whitaker
1980-1981Northern Premier League4thColin Whitaker
1981-1982Northern Premier League16thColin Whitaker
1982-1983Northern Premier League12thMick Davis
1983-1984Northern Premier League21stMick Davis
1984-1985Northern Premier League22ndE.M. Sutherland
1985-1986Northern Premier League19thBob Murphy
1986-1987Northern Premier League13thBob Murphy
1987-1988Northern Premier League16thBob Murphy
1988-1989Northern Premier League15thBob Murphy
1989-1990Northern Premier League16thBob Murphy
1990-1991Northern Premier League8thBob Murphy
1991-1992Northern Premier League5thBob Murphy
1992-1993Northern Premier League14thBob Murphy
1993-1994Northern Premier League15thErnie Oliver
1994-1995Northern Premier League7thGary Walker
1995-1996Northern Premier League20thBill Green
1996-1997Northern Premier League22ndDavid Vaughan
1997-1998Northern Premier League Division One22ndWayne Goodison
1998-1999Northern Counties East 10thDerek Hall
1999-2000Northern Counties East 18thTony Hodkinson
2000-2001Northern Counties East 12thTony Hodkinson
2001-2002Northern Counties East 19thTony Hodkinson
2002-2003Northern Counties East 4thRonnie Wright
2003-2004Northern Counties East 7thRonnie Wright
2004-2005Northern Counties East 9thRonnie Wright
 2005-2006Northern Counties East 1stNicky Law
 2006-2007Northern Premier League Division One1stNicky Law
2007-2008Northern Premier League Premier Division5thNicky Law
2008-2009Northern Premier League Premier Division14thJohn Reed
2009-2010Northern Premier League Premier Division8thJohn Reed
2010-2011Northern Premier League Premier Division6thJohn Reed
2011-2012Northern Premier League Premier Division13thJohn Reed
2012-2013Northern Premier League Premier Division7thMartin McIntosh
2013-2014Northern Premier League Premier Division13thMartin McIntosh.

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!