Non-League Club Directory Logo

Cambridge United

Currently Playing In:

Conference Premier

Altrincham Club Crest image

The club had celebrated a steady and well organized climb through the non-league ranks when they were elected to The Football League in 1970. For thirty five years the club enjoyed their status and indeed won the Division Four Championship in 1976-77 and the Division Three title in 1990-1991, but in 2005, United stepped back to The Conference where they kept a low profile for a couple of years.

Many of the clubs, devastated when losing their Football League status, have found that a spell in the Conference gives them time to re build on and off the field. Now, with revived spirit and confidence, Cambridge United are certainly among the favourites to challenge for promotion.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Abbey United 1919-51
The R Costings Abbey Stadium, Newmarket Road, Cambridge CB5 8LN
01223 566 500
A14 towards Cambridge and Newmarket, leave A14 at Junction with B1047. Turn right at top of slip road, follow road through Fen Ditton to TJunction and traffic lights. Turn right at lights, and go straight over at roundabout. Ground is on left hand side approximately 1/2 mile from roundabout.
Record Attendance:
14,000 v Chelsea - Friendly 01/05/1970
Most Recent Senior Honour:
FA Trophy Winners 2013-2014

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1947-1948United Counties League16th
1948-1949United Counties League Division One5th
1951-1952Eastern Counties League4thBill Whittaker
1952-1953Eastern Counties League4thBill Whittaker
1953-1954Eastern Counties League3rdBill Whittaker
1954-1955Eastern Counties League4thBill Whittaker
1955-1956Eastern Counties League10thBert Johnson
1956-1957Eastern Counties League6thBert Johnson
1957-1958Eastern Counties League2ndBert Johnson
1958-1959Southern League South East Division12thBert Johnson
1959-1960Southern League Division One9thBill Craig
1960-1961Southern League Division One2ndAlan Moore
1961-1962Southern League Premier Division12thAlan Moore
1962-1963Southern League Premier Division2ndAlan Moore
1963-1964Southern League Premier Division9thRoy Kirk
1964-1965Southern League Premier Division11thRoy Kirk
1965-1966Southern League Premier Division10thRoy Kirk
1966-1967Southern League Premier Division8thBill Leivers
1967-1968Southern League Premier Division3rdBill Leivers
 1968-1969Southern League Premier Division1stBill Leivers
 1969-1970Southern League Premier Division1stBill Leivers
1970-1971Football League Division Four20thBill Leivers
1971-1972Football League Division Four10thBill Leivers
1972-1973Football League Division Four3rdBill Leivers
1973-1974Football League Division Three21stBill Leivers
1974-1975Football League Division Four6thBill Leivers
1975-1976Football League Division Four13thRon Atkinson
 1976-1977Football League Division Four1stRon Atkinson
1977-1978Football League Division Three2ndRon Atkinson
1978-1979Football League Division Two12thJohn Docherty
1979-1980Football League Division Two8thJohn Docherty
1980-1981Football League Division Two13thJohn Docherty
1981-1982Football League Division Two14thJohn Docherty
1982-1983Football League Division Two12thJohn Docherty
1983-1984Football League Division Two22ndJohn Docherty
1984-1985Football League Division Three24thJohn Ryan
1985-1986Football League Division Four22ndKen Shellito
1986-1987Football League Division Four11thChris Turner
1987-1988Football League Division Four15thChris Turner
1988-1989Football League Division Four8thChris Turner
1989-1990Football League Division Four6thChris Turner
 1990-1991Football League Division Three1stJohn Beck
1991-1992Football League Division Two5thJohn Beck
1992-1993Football League Division One23rdJohn Beck
1993-1994Football League Division Two10thGary Johnson
1994-1995Football League Division Two20thGary Johnson
1995-1996Football League Division Three16thTommy Taylor
1996-1997Football League Division Three10thTommy Taylor
1997-1998Football League Division Three16thRoy McFarland
1998-1999Football League Division Three2ndRoy McFarland
1999-2000Football League Division Two19thRoy McFarland
2000-2001Football League Division Two19thRoy McFarland
2001-2002Football League Division Two24thJohn Beck
2002-2003Football League Division Three12thJohn Taylor
2003-2004Football League Division Three13thJohn Taylor
2004-2005Football League Two24thHerve Renard
2005-2006Conference Premier12thRob Newman
2006-2007Conference Premier17thRob Newman
2007-2008Conference Premier2ndJimmy Quinn
2008-2009Conference Premier2ndGary Brabin
2009-2010Conference Premier10thMartin Ling
2010-2011Conference Premier17thMartin Ling
2011-2012Conference Premier9thJez George
2012-2013Conference Premier14thJez George
2013-2014Conference PremierRichard Money

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!