Non-League Club Directory Logo

Carlton Town

Altrincham Club Crest image

Having been formed in 1904 as Sneinton F.C. the club settled down in The Notts Alliance competition and remained in Division One until 1993. After two more seasons the club had qualified to move on to The Central Midlands League.

In 1997 Tom Brookbanks became involved in a spell of club management which was to last for thirteen years and in that time that club moved up to The Supreme Division, changed its name to Carlton Town in 2002 and moved on as champions, through two divisions of The Northern Counties League and into The Northern Premier league.

Carlton Town had proved itself to be one of non-league football’s most consistent clubs with just two finishes outside the top ten in twenty six seasons. The club is obviously in good hands and enjoying their progress.


Club Factfile

Bill Stokeld Stadium, Stoke Lane, Gedling, Nottingham NG4 2QP
0115 940 2531
From M1 J26 take A610 to Nottingham Ring Road. Follow signs for Mansfield (A60) for approx 4 miles via 2 roundabouts until reaching junction with A60 at Arnold. Take right turn at Vale Hotel on to Thackerays Lane. Proceed to roundabout and take 3rd exit on to Arno Vale Road. Proceed through traffic lights to top of hill and continue straight on at next lights on to Arnold Lane. Continue past golf course, the old Gedling Colliery and church to mini roundabout. Continue straight on to the old junction with A612. (Southwell) must turn right here and at next set of lights turn left and follow the loop road to the next junction. Take left turn on to the new A612 Gedling By Pass and follow to the next set of traffic lights at Severn Trent Works. Turn left on to Stoke Lane. Entrance to Carlton Town is immediate right. [Ground must be accessed via the new A612 between Netherfield and Burton Joyce. Football club is signposted in both directions on the approach to the ground). Sat Nav postcode NG4 2QW

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1987-1988Notts Football Alliance Division One9th
1988-1989Notts Football Alliance Division One6th
1989-1990Notts Football Alliance Division One10th
1990-1991Notts Football Alliance Division One3rd
1991-1992Notts Football Alliance Division One3rd
 1992-1993Notts Football Alliance Division One1st
1993-1994Notts Football Alliance Senior Division8th
1994-1995Notts Football Alliance Senior Division3rd
1995-1996Central Midlands League Premier Division6th
1996-1997Central Midlands League Premier Division7thGary Saxby
1997-1998Central Midlands League Premier Division3rdTom Brookbanks & Neil Cooper
1998-1999Central Midlands League Supreme Division13thTom Brookbanks & Neil Cooper
1999-2000Central Midlands League Supreme Division8thTom Brookbanks
2000-2001Central Midlands League Supreme Division3rdTom Brookbanks
2001-2002Central Midlands League Supreme Division5thTom Brookbanks
As Carlton Town
 2002-2003Central Midlands League Supreme Division1stTom Brookbanks
2003-2004Northern Counties East Division One9thTom Brookbanks
2004-2005Northern Counties East Division One3rdTom Brookbanks
2005-2006Northern Counties East Division One1stTom Brookbanks
2006-2007Northern Counties East Premier Division3rdTom Brookbanks
2007-2008Northern Premier League Division One South10thTom Brookbanks
2008-2009Northern Premier League Division One South4thTom Brookbanks
2009-2010Northern Premier League Division One South9thTom Brookbanks
2010-2011Northern Premier League Division One South8thLes McJannet
2011-2012Northern Premier League Division One South2ndLes McJannet
2012-2013Northern Premier League Division One South12thLes McJannet
2013-2014Northern Premier League Division One South10thLes McJannet

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!