Non-League Club Directory Logo

Carshalton Athletic

Altrincham Club Crest image

Surrounded by senior non-league clubs in Surrey, Carshalton Athletic quickly worked their way through the South London leagues after their formation in 1905. Playing in the Corinthian League when football resumed in 1946, ‘The Robins’ then moved up a grade by joining The Athenian League in 1956.

The Isthmian and Athenian leagues were amateur rivals at the time but gradually The Isthmians grew stronger and Carshalton Athletic moved across to join them in 1973.
Finding competition much tougher as senior clubs battled with ‘expenses’ for the ‘amateurs, the club appointed Billy Smith, a highly respected manager, who built a squad that regularly finished in the top ten in the early ‘nineties’.

Form fluctuated, but at the turn of the century ‘Athletic‘ were relegated to Division One, where they remained for just two years, before manager Smith returned to achieve promotion. Then, after league restructuring in 2004,  Carshalton Athletic became founder members of Conference South. This appeared to be a grade too high for the club at the time, and sadly the club have since dropped down to Isthmian Division One where ‘The Robins’ will hope to consolidate and re-build.


Club Factfile

War Memorial Sports Ground, Colston Avenue, Carshalton SM5 2PW
0208 642 2551

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Isthmian League Premier Division11thP.Amato
1978-1979Isthmian League Premier Division17thP.Amato
1979-1980Isthmian League Premier Division19thP.Amato
1980-1981Isthmian League Premier Division17thT. Elkins-Green)
1981-1982Isthmian League Premier Division16thBrian Greenhalgh
1982-1983Isthmian League Premier Division16thLaurie Churchill
1983-1984Isthmian League Premier Division20thLaurie Churchill
1984-1985Isthmian League Premier Division15thBilly Smith
1985-1986Isthmian League Premier Division20thDave Lucas
1986-1987Isthmian League Premier Division15thBilly Smith
1987-1988Isthmian League Premier Division 9thBilly Smith
1988-1989Isthmian League Premier Division 4thBilly Smith
1989-1990Isthmian League Premier Division10thBilly Smith
1990-1991Isthmian League Premier Division9thBilly Smith
1991-1992Isthmian League Premier Division8thBilly Smith
1992-1993Isthmian League Premier Division4thBilly Smith
1993-1994Isthmian League Premier Division6thBilly Smith
1994-1995Isthmian League Premier Division12thBilly Smith
1995-1996Isthmian League Premier Division6thJohn Rains
1996-1997Isthmian League Premier Division13th Tony Jennings
1997-1998Isthmian League Premier Division17thChris Kilby
1998-1999Isthmian League Premier Division20thChris Kilby
1999-2000Isthmian League Premier Division17thGary Bowyer
2000-2001Isthmian League Premier Division21stTony Rains
2001-2002Isthmian League Division One6thFrank Murphy
 2002-2003Isthmian League Division One South1stGraham Roberts
2003-2004Isthmian League Premier Division7thBilly Smith
2004-2005Conference South19thBilly Smith
2005-2006Conference South21stBilly Smith
2006-2007Isthmian League Premier Division13thDave Garland
2007-2008Isthmian League Premier Division18thDave Garland
2008-2009Isthmian League Premier Division4thHayden Bird
2009-2010Isthmian League Premier Division17thHayden Bird
2010-2011Isthmian League Premier Division13thMark Butler
2011-2012Isthmian League Premier Division16thPaul Dipre
2012-2013Isthmian League Premier Division23rdPaul Dipre
2013-2014Isthmian League Premier DivisionStuart Massey

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!