Non-League Club Directory Logo

Cheltenham Town

The Gloucestershire club was formed in 1849 and played local football until turning professional in 1930 and competing in The Birmingham Combination until they were accepted by the Southern League in 1935.

There were few outstanding achievements in the early Southern League days, but in 1982 promotion to the Premier Division was achieved as Midland Division Champions and two years later another championship found ‘The Robins’ featuring at the top of the non-league pyramid in The Conference.

Perhaps the club were not quite ready for this level of football and after seven seasons and no top ten finishes, Cheltenham were relegated back to The Southern League. However, after five exciting seasons without ever being out of the top three, a play-off success in 1997 took the club back into The Conference in a very positive frame of mind.

Under the inspired managership of Steve Cotterill it only took two seasons to achieve a Football League place and the club have fought off financial pressures and have successfully battled to establish themselves as a solid Football League club.

Cheltenham Town are an excellent example of a non-league club proving its quality.


Club Factfile


Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Southern League Premier Division14thDenis Allen
1978-1979Southern League Premier Division18thDenis Allen
1979-1980Southern League Midland Division19thTerry Payne
1980-1981Southern League Midland Division8thAllan Grundy
1981-1982Southern League Midland Division16thAllan Grundy
 1982-1983Southern League Midland Division1stAlan Wood
1983-1984Southern League Premier Division8thAlan Wood
 1984-1985Southern League Premier Division1stJohn Murphy
1985-1986Conference11thJohn Murphy
1986-1987Conference11thJohn Murphy
1987-1988Conference13thJohn Murphy
1988-1989Conference15thJohn Murphy
1989-1990Conference11thJim Barron
1990-1991Conference16thJim Barron
1991-1992Conference21stAlly Robinson
1992-1993Southern League Premier Division2ndLindsey Parsons
1993-1994Southern League Premier Division2ndLindsey Parsons
1994-1995Southern League Premier Division2ndLindsey Parsons
1995-1996Southern League Premier Division3rdChris Robinson
1996-1997Southern League Premier Division2ndChris Robinson/Steve Cotterill
1997-1998Conference2ndSteve Cotterill
 1998-1999Conference1stSteve Cotterill
1999-2000Football League Division Three8thSteve Cotterill
2000-2001Football League Division Three9thSteve Cotterill
2001-2002Football League Division Three4thSteve Cotterill
2002-2003Football League Division Two21stGraham Allner/Bobby Gould
2003-2004Football League Division Three14thBobby Gould/JohnWard
2004-2005Football League Division Two14thJohn Ward
2005-2006Football League Division Two5thJohn Ward
2006-2007Football League Division One17thJohn Ward
2007-2008Football League Division One19thKeith Downing
2008-2009Football League Division One23rdKeith Diowning/Martin Allen
2009-2010Football League Division Two22ndMartin Allen/Mark Yates
2010-2011Football League Division Two17thMark Yates
2011-2012Football League Division Two6thMark Yates
2012-2013Football League Division Two5thMark Yates
2013-2014Football League Division TwoMark Yates

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!