Non-League Club Directory Logo

Chesham United

A club formed at the end of the First World War, Chesham United began their competitive life in The Spartan League, but after the Second World War, moved to The Corinthian League and then ten years later became competitive members of the Athenian League.

As Athenians, Chesham reached an FA Amateur Cup Final at Wembley in 1967-1968 but moved on to The Isthmian League in 1973, where they took eighteen years to reach The Premier Division. However, after the Division One championship in 1991, the Premiership title was earned two years later and then although relegation was suffered in 1995, an immediate recovery brought their third title in seven seasons!

The club have signed some very well known non-league managers, but since 1982, whether the club was successful or not, no one seemed to stay more than two seasons until 2007, when Andy Leese arrived. In fact apart from Mike Hall and Andy,19 well known managers were employed in 25 seasons.

However, consistency seems to have been achieved with six consecutive top six finishes with Andy Leese’ squad now competitive in The Southern Premier Division.


Club Factfile

The Meadow, Amy Lane, Chesham, HP5 1NE
01494 783 964
From M25 Junction 20 take A41 (Aylesbury), leave A41 at turn-off for Chesham (A416), pass through Ashley Green into Chesham. Follow signs to Amersham, still on A416 pass two petrol stations opposite each other and at next roundabout take third exit into ground. From M1 Junction 8 follow signs for Hemel Hempstead then joining the A41 for Aylesbury, then as above.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Isthmian League Division One19thMike Hall
1979-1980Isthmian League Division One6thMike Hall
1980-1981Isthmian League Division One10thMike Hall
1981-1982Isthmian League Division One19thMike Hall
1982-1983Isthmian League Division One15thLaurie Craker
1983-1984Isthmian League Division One9thPat Morissey
1984-1985Isthmian League Division One4thPat Morissey
1985-1986Isthmian League Division One20thDave Russell
 1986-1987Isthmian League Division Two North1stDave Russell
1987-1988Isthmian League Division One18thJohn Pratt
1988-1989Isthmian League Division One14thJohn Pratt
1989-1990Isthmian League Division One10thAlan Taylor
 1990-1991Isthmian League Division One1stJohn Clements
1991-1992Isthmian League Premier Division4thGeorge Borg
 1992-1993Isthmian League Premier Division1stGerald Aplin
1993-1994Isthmian League Premier Division4thGerald Aplin
1994-1995Isthmian League Premier Division20thPaul Roberts
1995-1996Isthmian League Division One12thJim Kelman
 1996-1997Isthmian League Division One1st
1997-1998Isthmian League Premier Division14thAndy Thomas
1998-1999Isthmian League Premier Division15thGraham Roberts
1999-2000Isthmian League Premier Division3rdLaurie Craker
2000-2001Isthmian League Premier Division5thJohn Kendall
2001-2002Isthmian League Premier Division7thBob Dowie
2002-2003Isthmian League Premier Division21stColin Lippiatt
2003-2004Isthmian League Division One North4thColin Lippiatt
2004-2005Southern League Premier Division12thSteve Bateman
2005-2006Southern League Premier Division22ndSteve Bateman
2006-2007Southern League Division One S.W.15thLuther Blissett
2007-2008Southern League Division One Midland6thAndy Leese
2008-2009Southern League Division One Midland5thAndy Leese
2009-2010Southern League Division One Midland4thAndy Leese
2010-2011Southern League Premier Division6thAndy Leese
2011-2012Southern League Premier Division4thAndy Leese
2012-2013Southern League Premier Division3rdAndy Leese
2013-204Southern League Premier Division2ndAndy Leese

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!