Non-League Club Directory Logo


Altrincham Club Crest image

The first full season after the Second World War saw the introduction of many new football clubs and the North London club Cheshunt began their competitive life with two spells in The London League (1947-51 and 1956-59) on either side of four years in the Delphian League.

With many London amateur clubs working hard to reach the well respected Isthmian or Athenian competitions, Cheshunt worked their way through The Aetolian and Spartan Leagues before eventually settling in The Athenian League for an eleven year spell in 1965.

The 1977-78 campaign was the first of ten difficult seasons in The Isthmian League for ‘The Ambers’ but having experienced their best season in fourth position in 1986, they finished at the foot of the table and were relegated back to The Spartan League in 1987.

Manager David Bidwell brought some stability to the clubs performances and after six steady years, Cheshunt deservedly returned to The Isthmian League, where apart from a three years spell in the Southern League (2005-2008), they have remained as a middle of the table club in Division One.


Club Factfile

The Stadium, Theobalds Lane, Cheshunt, Hertfordshire EN8 8RU
01992 633 500
M25, junction 25 take A10 north towards Hertford. Third exit at roundabout towards Waltham Cross A121. First exit at roundabout towards Cheshunt B176. Under railway bridge then left onto Theobalds Lane. Ground is 800 yard on the right.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Isthmian League Division Two11thGordon Sedgley
1979-1980 Isthmian League Division Two10thGordon Sedgley
1980-1981Isthmian League Division Two6thGordon Sedgley
1981-1982Isthmian League Division Two2ndJohn Drabwell
1982-1983Isthmian League Division One18thJohn Drabwell
1983-1984Isthmian League Division One21stJohn Drabwell
1984-1985Isthmian League Division Two North12thB.Neville
1985-1986Isthmian League Division Two North4thB.Neville
1986-1987Isthmian League Division Two North22ndDavid Bidwell
1987-1988Spartan Football League4thDavid Bidwell
1988-1989Spartan Football League6thDavid Bidwell
1989-1990Spartan Football League4thDavid Bidwell
1990-1991Spartan Football League4thDavid Bidwell
1991-1992Spartan Football League8thDavid Bidwell
1992-1993Spartan Football League3rdDavid Bidwell
1993-1994Isthmian League Division Three2ndDave Bidwell
1994-1995Isthmian League Division Two15thGary Brooker
1995-1996Isthmian League Division Two16thKurt Davidson
1996-1997Isthmian League Division Two19thJohn Ward
1997-1998Isthmian League Division Two22ndDave Steedman
1998-1999Isthmian League Division Three3rdKeith Hughes
1999-2000Isthmian League Division Two16thTom Loizou
2000-2001Isthmian League Division Two19thTom Loizou
2001-2002Isthmian League Division Two20thTroy Townsend
 2002-2003Isthmian League Division Two1stAndy Leese
2003-2004Isthmian League Division One North3rdAndy Leese
2004-2005Isthmian League Premier division19thAndy Leese
2005-2006 Southern League Premier Division16thTom Loiziou
2006-2007Southern League Premier Division16thTom Loiziou
2007-2008Southern League Premier Division22ndTom Loizou
2008-2009Isthmian League Division One North14thGordon Boateng
2009-2010Isthmian League Division One North15thBob Dearie
2010-2011Isthmian League Division One North18thBob Dearie
2011-2012Isthmian League Division One North18thB.Neville
2012-2013Isthmian League Division One North12thTony Faulkner
2013-2014Isthmian League Division One North15thDavid Bricknell

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!