Non-League Club Directory Logo

Chippenham Town

Altrincham Club Crest image

Having been formed in 1873, Chippenham Town are one of the oldest clubs in Wiltshire and before settling in the Western League they built the club while competing in the county competitions and the Hellenic League.

The club have always attracted well known west country managers and it was Tommy Saunders who actually took them into a national competition after an exciting FA Vase run to Wembley in 2000, then, as runners up in the Western League Premier Division the following year, ‘The Bluebirds’ were promoted into The Southern League.

After just one season, another second place finish took Chippenham Town into The Southern Premier Division and apart from one shaky season in 2003-2004, the club have consolidated in the senior competition.


Club Factfile

Hardenhuish Park, Bristol Road, Chippenham, Wiltshire SN14 6LR
01249 650 400
Exit 17 from M4. Follow A350 towards Chippenham for three miles to first roundabout, take second exit (A350); follow road to third roundabout (junction with A420). Turn left and follow signs to town centre. Ground is 1km on left hand side adjacent to pedestrian controlled traffic lights. Car/Coach park next to traffic lights.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Western League Division One19th
1978-1979Western League Division One4th
1979-1980Western League Division One11th
 1980-1981Western League Division One1stJ.Howell
1981-1982Western League Premier Division14thJ.Howell
1982-1983Western League Premier Division13thBrian Mortimer
1983-1984Western League Premier Division16thKen Owens
1984-1985Western League Premier Division7thKen Owens
1985-1986Western League Premier Division5thKen Owens
1986-1987Western League Premier Division9thKen Owens
1987-1988Western League Premier Division20thTerry Parsons
1988-1989Western League Premier Division12thVic Flippance
1989-1990Western League Premier Division13thVic Flippance
1990-1991Western League Premier Division17thVic Flippance
1991-1992Western League Premier Division14thMel Gingell
1992-1993Western League Premier Division16thMel Gingell
1993-1994Western League Premier Division8thGeoff Evans
1994-1995Western League Premier Division8thGeoff Evans
1995-1996Western League Premier Division10thGeoff Evans
1996-1997Western League Premier Division5thJohn Freegard
1997-1998Western League Premier Division12thVic Flippance
1998-1999Western League Premier Division3rdVic Flippance
1999-2000Western League Premier Division4thTommy Saunders
2000-2001Western League Premier Division2ndTommy Saunders
2001-2002Southern League Division One Western2ndTommy Saunders
2002-2003Southern League Premier Division5thTommy Saunders
2003-2004Southern League Premier Division21stTommy Saunders
2004-2005Southern League Premier Division2ndSteve White
2005-2006Southern League Premier Division4thDarren Perrin
2006-2007Southern League Premier Division7thDarren Perrin
2007-2008Southern League Premier Division4thAdie Mings
2008-2009Southern League Premier Division8thAdie Mings
2009-2010Southern League Premier Division3rdAdie Mings
2010-2011Southern League Premier Division7thAdie Mings
2011-2012Southern League Premier Division11thAdie Mings
2012-2013Southern League Premier Division15thNathan Rudge
2013-2014Southern League Premier Division

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!