Non-League Club Directory Logo


Altrincham Club Crest image

One of the oldest football teams in the North West, Chorley are a respected club that have made their way through the local leagues since their formation in 1883.

1890-1894 Lancashire Alliance
1894-1903 Lancashire League
1903-1968 Lancashire Combination
1968-1969 Northern Premier League
1969-1970 Lancashire Combination
1970-1972 Northern Premier League
1972-1982 Cheshire County League
1982-1988 Northern Premier League
1988-1990 The Football Conference
1990- Northern Premier League

Two years spent in the Conference represents the club’s best seasons, but four periods as members of The Northern Premier League have produced the backbone of the clubs history, and a recent challenge for promotion through the play offs, only just failed and proved the ambitious club is looking forward to another spell of Conference football.


Club Factfile

The Chorley Group Victory Park Stadium, Duke Street, Chorley, Lancashire PR7 3DU
01257 230 007
From M6, junction 27 (Standish): Leave motorway, and head toward Wrightington. Take first turning right (next to garage) into Mossy Lee Road. Turn right into Boundary Lane (going over motorway bridge). Carry on along here (road changes to Pepper Lane) to end and turn left onto Preston Road (A49) and head toward Coppull. Follow signs for Chorley onto Spendmore Lane at first round-a-bout. Drive along here following signs for Chorley. Once in Chorley, Spendmore Lane becomes Moor Road and then Pall Mall following traffic lights. Just after the Plough Inn, turn right into Duke Street, then third right (after School) into Ashby Street. Ground is on the right. From M61, junction 8 (Mormon Temple): Leave motorway and follow signs toward Chorley town centre along A6. At the two round-a-bouts by B&Q, head across the first then the right exit at the immediate next. Go straight across the next 6 (six) round-a-bouts until you pass between Morrison's and the Ford garage. You will then arrive at the final round-a-bout with the Eagle Hotel in view. Take the third exit, then immediate first left into Duke Street. Then take the second left into Ashby Street. Ground is on the right.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Cheshire County League Division One9thA.Spence
1978-1979Cheshire County League Division One7thA.Spence
1979-1980Cheshire County League Division One3rdA.Spence
1980-1981Cheshire County League Division One6thLes Rigby
1981-1982Cheshire County League Division One2ndPeter Wragg
1982-1983Northern Premier League Premier Division4thPeter Wragg
1983-1984Northern Premier League Premier Division14thTommy Haworth
1984-1985Northern Premier League Premier Division18thTommy Haworth
1985-1986Northern Premier League Premier Division20thKen Wright
1986-1987Northern Premier League Premier Division9thKen Wright
 1987-1988Northern Premier League Premier Division1stKen Wright
1988-1989GM Vauxhall Conference17thKen Wright
1989-1990GM Vauxhall Conference20thKen Wright
1990-1991Northern Premier League Premier Division14thJohn Williams
1991-1992Northern Premier League Premier Division21stJohn Williams
1992-1993Northern Premier League Premier Division18thGlen Buckley
1993-1994Northern Premier League Premier Division10thGlen Buckley
1994-1995Northern Premier League Premier Division18thGlen Buckley
1995-1996Northern Premier League Premier Division14thDave Sutton
1996-1997Northern Premier League Premier Division13thDave Sutton
1997-1998Northern Premier League Premier Division15thBrian Griffiths
1998-1999Northern Premier League Premier Division21stBrian Griffiths
1999-2000Northern Premier League Division One13thKen Wright
2000-2001Northern Premier League Division One10thKen Wright
2001-2002Northern Premier League Division One13thKen Wright
2002-2003Northern Premier League Division One5thMark Molyneux
2003-2004Northern Premier League Division One18thMark Molyneux
2004-2005Northern Premier League Division One16thJohn Hughes
2005-2006Northern Premier League Division One18thShaun Teale
2006-2007Northern Premier League Division One23rdShaun Teale
2007-2008Northern Premier League Division One North14thGerry Luczka
2008-2009Northern Premier League Division One North14thTony Hesketh
2009-2010Northern Premier League Division One North16thSteve Waywell
2010-2011Northern Premier League Division One North3rdGarry Flitcroft
2011-2012Northern Premier League Premier Division3rdGarry Flitcroft
2012-2013Northern Premier League Premier Division8thGarry Flitcroft
 2013-2014Northern Premier League Premier Division1stGarry Flitcroft
2014-2015Conference NorthGarry Flitcroft

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!