Non-League Club Directory Logo

Cirencester Town

Altrincham Club Crest image

Formed in 1889, ’The Centurians’ from the Gloucestershire country town of Cirencester have developed steadily and spent most of their formative years in the Hellenic League.

At the beginning of the ‘eighties’ Cirencester had slipped down a division and they found themselves in Division One where, after mixed fortunes during the decade, the 1990-1991 campaign brought an encouraging season under the leadership of Andy Lyne and promotion was achieved as runners-up.

Throughout the last thirty years the club have been respected for giving their managers time to build their squads. Cirencester immediately challenged at the top of the Premier Division but it was four years later that another move up was achieved, as Hellenic champions under the guidance of Ray Baverstock.

Southern League football for Cirencester Town! Local supporters were thrilled and the club has remained in the Southern League ever since with two short spells in the Premier Division.


Club Factfile

The Corinium Stadium, Kingshill Lane, Cirencester GL7 1HS
01285 654 543
Leave bypass at Burford Road roundabout. Aim for Stow, turn right at traffic lights, then right again at next junction, first left into Kingshill Lane. Ground 500 yards on right.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979 Hellenic League Division One13th
1979-1980 Hellenic League Division One6th
1980-1981 Hellenic League Division One3rd
1981-1982 Hellenic League Division One7th
1982-1983 Hellenic League Division One4thD.Coates
1983-1984 Hellenic League Division One12thMick Hughes
1984-1985 Hellenic League Division One6thMick Hughes
1985-1986 Hellenic League Division One12thMick Hughes
1986-1987 Hellenic League Division One11thBrian Horne
1987-1988 Hellenic League Division One9thBrian Horne
1988-1989 Hellenic League Division One15thBrian Horne
1989-1990 Hellenic League Division One11thAndy Lyne
1990-1991 Hellenic League Division One2ndAndy Lyne
1991-1992 Hellenic League Premier Division2nd
1992-1993 Hellenic League Premier Division4th
1993-1994 Hellenic League Premier Division13th
1994-1995 Hellenic League Premier Division6th
Bestyear1995-1996 Hellenic League Premier Division1stRay Baverstock
1996-1997 Southern League Southern Division16thRay Baverstock
1997-1998 Southern League Southern Division18thRay Baverstock
1998-1999 Southern League Southern Division12thRay Baverstock
1999-2000 Southern League Western Division7thRay Baverstock
2000-2001 Southern League Western Division11thRay Baverstock
2001-2002 Southern League Western Division13thRay Baverstock
2002-2003Southern League Western Division14thBrian Hughes
2003-2004 Southern League Western Division3rdBrian Hughes
2004-2005Southern League Premier Division7thBrian Hughes
2005-2006 Southern League Premier Division18thBrian Hughes
2006-2007 Southern League Premier Division21stNeil Hards
2007-2008Southern League Premier Division21stAdi Viveash
2008-2009 Southern League SW Division14thAdi Viveash
2009-2010 Southern League SW Division5thAdi Viveash
2010-2011Southern League Premier Division13thBrian Hughes
2011-2012Southern League Premier Division22ndBrian Hughes
2012-2013Southern League Division One SW11thBrian Hughes
Bestyear2013-2014Southern League Division One SW1stBrian Hughes
2014-2015Southern League Premier DivisionBrian Hughes

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!