Non-League Club Directory Logo


Altrincham Club Crest image

The Blackburn & District League provided the first competitive football for Clitheroe Football Club who were formed in 1877. Three spells were also experienced in The Lancashire Combination before ‘The Blues’ settled in the North West Counties League in 1982 with outstanding success.

Three consecutive championships were won under manager Eric Whalley, taking the club from Division Three to Division One and winning all three divisions. These outstanding leagues performances couldn’t possibly be continued, but an FA Vase Wembley appearance in 1996 will never be forgotten by their supporters.

However, consistency in the League eventually brought another excellent run at the
beginning of the century, finishing with another championship title and promotion to The Northern Premier league.

The club has found the higher level much more difficult but the club has a record of stability and steady improvement, so no doubt The Premier Division will be in their sights.


Club Factfile

Shawbridge Street, Clitheroe, BB7 1DZ
01200 444 487
M6 junction 31, A59 to Clitheroe (17 miles) at 5th roundabout turn left after half a mile at Pendle Road. Ground is one mile behind Bridge Inn on the right.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1980-1981Lancashire Combination9thKeith Newton
1981-1982Lancashire Combination5thKeith Newton
1982-1983North West Counties Division Three3rdEric Whalley
 1983-1984North West Counties Division Three1stEric Whalley
 1984-1985North West Counties Division Two1stEric Whalley
 1985-1986North West Counties Division One1stEric Whalley
1986-1987North West Counties Division One3rd
1987-1988North West Counties Division One3rdDave Morris
1988-1989North West Counties Division One12thDave Morris
1989-1990North West Counties Division One5thDave Morris
1990-1991North West Counties Division One15thDave Morris
1991-1992North West Counties Division One9thDave Morris
1992-1993North West Counties Division One7thAlan Bradshaw
1993-1994North West Counties Division One9thAlan Bradshaw
1994-1995North West Counties Division One2ndDenis Underwood & Gary Butcher
1995-1996North West Counties Division One7thDenis Underwood & Gary Butcher
1996-1997North West Counties Division One3rdDenis Underwood & Gary Butcher
1997-1998North West Counties Division One6thDenis Underwood & Gary Butcher
1998-1999North West Counties Division One12thDenis Underwood & Gary Butcher
1999-2000North West Counties Division One10thSteve Parry
2000-2001North West Counties Division One2ndSteve Parry
2001-2002North West Counties Division One5thSteve Parry
2002-2003North West Counties Division One2ndSteve Parry
 2003-2004North West Counties Division One1stSteve Parry
2004-2005Northern Premier League Div.One North19thJimmy Mullen
2005-2006Northern Premier League Div.One North16thTommy Lawson
2006-2007Northern Premier League Div.One North16thMike Smithergale
2007-2008Northern Premier League Div.One North13thNeil Reynolds &Peter Smith
2008-2009Northern Premier League Div.One North12thNeil Reynolds
2009-2010Northern Premier League Div.One North8thPeter Smith
2010-2011Northern Premier League Div.One North6thPeter Smith
2011-2012Northern Premier League Div.One North19thCarl Garner
2012-2013Northern Premier League Div.One North8thPaul Moore
2013-2014Northern Premier League Div.One North17thSimon Garner

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!