Non-League Club Directory Logo

Colwyn Bay

Altrincham Club Crest image

After formation in 1885, the first 100 years for Colwyn Bay Football Club featured periods in four Welsh regional competitions - North Wales Coast 1901-21 and 1933-1935, Welsh National League 1921-1930, North Wales Combination 1930-1931 and The Welsh League (North) and then ‘The Seagulls’ took up the challenge in the English non-league ‘pyramid’ by joining the North West Counties League.

Seven years later three promotions had taken the club through the three North West Counties divisions and into The Northern Premier League Division One where, at the first attempt, Colwyn Bay found themselves promoted into the N.P.L. Premier Division.

The club found it tough at this level and after seven seasons without a top half finish, a re-building period of seven more campaigns prepared the club for another challenge at The Premier level. Two wonderful seasons have taken Colwyn Bay back through the NPL Premier and into The Blue Square North for the first time where they are consolidating well.


Club Factfile

Llanelian Road, Old Colwyn, North Wales LL29 8UN
01492 514 581
From Queensferry take the A55 and exit at Junction 22 signposted Old Colwyn at end of slip road turn left, up the hill to the mini roundabout, straight across onto Llanelian Road, ground is approx half mile on the right.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Welsh League North Division
1984-1985North West Counties Division Three2ndBryn Jones
1985-1986North West Counties Division Two5thBryn Jones
1986-1987North West Counties Division Two5thBryn Jones
1987-1988North West Counties Division One4thBryn Jones
1988-1989North West Counties Division One4thBryn Jones
1989-1990North West Counties Division One3rdBryn Jones
1990-1991North West Counties Division One2ndBryn Jones
 1991-1992Northern Premier League Division One1stBryn Jones
1992-1993Northern Premier League Premier Division12thBryn Jones
1993-1994Northern Premier League Premier Division5thBryn Jones
1994-1995Northern Premier League Premier Division12thBryn Jones
1995-1996Northern Premier League Premier Division18thBryn Jones
1996-1997Northern Premier League Premier Division16thBryn Jones
1997-1998Northern Premier League Premier Division13thBryn Jones
1998-1999Northern Premier League Premier Division15thBryn Jones
1999-2000Northern Premier League Premier Division20thBryn Jones
2000-2001Northern Premier League Premier Division19thColin Caton
2001-2002Northern Premier League Premier Division20thColin Caton
2002-2003Northern Premier League Premier Division22ndColin Caton
2003-2004Northern Premier League Division One16thJimmy Mullen
2004-2005Northern Premier League Division One13thJimmy Mullen
2005-2006Northern Premier League Division One12thPeter Davenport
2006-2007Northern Premier League Division One5thPeter Davenport
2007-2008Northern Premier League Division One South7thGary Finlay
2008-2009Northern Premier League Division One North4thSteve Pope
2009-2010Northern Premier League Division One North4thNeil Young
2010-2011Northern Premier League Premier Division2ndDavid Challinor
2011-2012Conference North12thDavid Challinor
2012-2013Conference North18thJon Newby
2013-2014Conference North12thFrank Sinclair

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!