Non-League Club Directory Logo

Corby Town

Altrincham Club Crest image

Until 1947, this Northamptonshire club played under the name of Stewart & Lloyds (Corby)  but a change to take on responsibility for the whole town of Corby has proved successful. A move from the Midland League to the Southern League in 1958 was followed by a consistent period in the sixties when regular top six finishes in The Southern League’s Midland Division led to eventual promotion and their first spell of Southern Premier football.

This period also brought FA Cup headlines for the club as The Third Round was reached in 1965-1966 after an away replay defeat of Luton Town and three other First Round appearances.

As regular Southern League members, ‘The Steelman’s time was spent quite evenly between the Premier and Regional First Divisions but in recent campaigns, ambitions have been raised and after promotion back to the Premier in 2006, three seasons of steady improvement were capped by a Championship success in 2009 and a place in The Conference North for the first time. After an encouraging start, final placings did not improve and after four seasons Corby returned to The Southern League.


Club Factfile

Rockingham Triangle Stadium, Rockingham Road, Corby NN17 2AE
01536 406 640
From A14, Exit at Jnc 7, Keep left, at first roundabout take A6003 Oakham/Uppingham stay on this road for approx. 7 miles (ignore signs for Corby to your right en route) straight over two roundabouts at second B.P. petrol station on right. At next roundabout approx 1 mile ahead turn right onto A6116 for 300 yards entrance to Ground between Rugby Club and Rockingham Forest Hotel (Great Western).

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Southern League Division One North20thDon Martin
1979-1980Southern League Midland Division22ndMatt McIlwain
1980-1981Southern League Midland Division10thMatt McIlwain
1981-1982Southern League Midland Division10thGordon Livsey
1982-1983Southern League Premier Division15thColin Clarke
1983-1984Southern League Premier Division14thColin Clarke
1984-1985Southern League Premier Division11thJohn Flannagan
1985-1986Southern League Premier Division13thJohn Flannagan
1986-1987Southern League Premier Division 9thColin Foster
1987-1988Southern League Premier Division10thColin Foster
1988-1989Southern League Premier Division16th
1989-1990Southern League Premier Division21st
1990-1991Southern League Midland Division2ndElwyn Roberts
1991-1992Southern League Premier Division14thElwyn Roberts
1992-1993Southern League Premier Division3rdElwyn Roberts
1993-1994Southern League Premier Division9thElwyn Roberts
1994-1995Southern League Premier Division22ndGerry McElhinny/Bryn Gunn
1995-1996Southern League Midland Division20thPat Rayment
1996-1997Southern League Midland Division20thPaul Fitzpatrick
1997-1998Southern League Midland Division21stIan Benjamin
1998-1999Southern League Southern Division19thIan Benjamin
1999-2000Southern League Southern Division21st
2000-2001Southern League Eastern Division11thLee Adam
2001-2002Southern League Eastern Division21stEddie McGoldrick
2002-2003Southern League Eastern Division19thWayne Spencer
2003-2004Southern League Eastern Division15thLee Glover
2004-2005Southern League Division One West12thLee Glover
2005-2006Southern League Division One East2ndRob Dunion
2006-2007Southern League Premier Division20thRob Dunion
2007-2008Southern League Premier Division16thKevin Wilson
 2008-2009Southern League Premier Division1stGraham Drury
2009-2010Conference North6thGraham Drury
2010-2011Conference North13thGraham Drury
2011-2012Conference North17thGraham Drury
2012-2013Conference North20thIan Sampson
2013-2014Southern League Premier Division11thTommy Wright

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!