Non-League Club Directory Logo

Crawley Town

This is one of Non-league Football’s real success stories. The Sussex club was formed in 1896 and played in local county amateur leagues until joining the Metropolitan League in 1956. Playing in a semi-professional competition, Crawley turned professional in 1962 and joined The Southern League a year later, spending all but one season in Division One until 1983-1984 when they were promoted as runners-up.

Steady progress was made by the club with great service given by John Maggs under whose managerial guidance promotion to the Premier Division had been achieved and who continued to help the club as chairman. 

Francis Vines was manager when the senior leagues were re-organized in 2004 and Crawley timed their championship season to perfection, finding themselves in The Conference Premier Division in 2004-2005.

Four years later, the driving force of Steve Evans as manager hadn’t won the club many friends, but their results he inspired were superb and despite the rumours of financial problems off the field, Crawley Town won The Conference Premier Championship and a place in The Football League in 2011. Since then promotion to Division One has confirmed the little Sussex club certainly deserves their Football league status.


Club Factfile


Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Southern League Division One South12thStan Markham
1978-1979Southern League Division One South15thStan Markham
1979-1980Southern League Division One South20thStan Markham
1980-1981Southern League Division One South15thJohn Maggs
1981-1982Southern League Division One South21stJohn Maggs
1982-1983Southern League Division One South7thJohn Maggs
1983-1984Southern League Division One South2ndJohn Maggs
1984-1985Southern League Premier Division3rdJohn Maggs
1985-1986Southern League Premier Division6thJohn Maggs
1986-1987Southern League Premier Division3thJohn Maggs
1987-1988Southern League Premier Division6thJohn Maggs
1988-1989Southern League Premier Division12thJohn Maggs
1989-1990Southern League Premier Division16thJohn Maggs
1990-1991Southern League Premier Division19thJohn Maggs
1991-1992Southern League Premier Division17thBrian Sparrow
1992-1993Southern League Premier Division6thSteve Wicks
1993-1994Southern League Premier Division5thTed Shepherd
1994-1995Southern League Premier Division11thTed Shepherd
1995-1996Southern League Premier Division9thColin Pates
1996-1997Southern League Premier Division17thColin Pates
1997-1998Southern League Premier Division10thBilly Smith
1998-1999Southern League Premier Division11thBilly Smith
1999-2000Southern League Premier Division12thBilly Smith
2000-2001Southern League Premier Division11thBilly Smith
2001-2002Southern League Premier Division4thBilly Smith
2002-2003Southern League Premier Division7thFrancis Vines
2003-2004Southern League Premier Division1stFrancis Vines
2004-2005Conference Premier12thFrancis Vines
2005-2006Conference Premier17thFrancis Vines
2006-2007Conference Premier18thJohn Hollins
2007-2008Conference Premier15thSteve Evans
2008-2009Conference Premier9thSteve Evans
2009-2010Conference Premier7thSteve Evans
 2010-2011Conference Premier1stSteve Evans
2011-2012Football League DivisionTwo3rdSteve Evans
2012-2013Football League DivisionTwo10thRichie Barker
2013-2014Football League Division OneRichie Barker

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!