Non-League Club Directory Logo


Currently Playing In:

Combined Counties Premier Division


Having spent their first ten years of competitive football life in The Surrey Senior League as Croydon Amateurs, the club joined The Spartan League in 1963 and immediately won their championship.

This success helped them gain a place in The Athenian `League where they played for ten years. In 1973 the term ‘Amateurs’ was dropped from their title, as The FA considered the status of players in the modern game. Then, in 1974, Croydon were elected to the expanding Isthmian League.

Ten seasons under the guidance of manager Ted Shepherd saw the club comfortably competing in The Isthmian Premier Division, but in 1989 the club slipped down a division and five years later two seasons were spent in Division Two.

Following celebrations as Isthmian Division One Champions in 2000, the club sadly dropped quickly through two divisions and finally accepted a place in The Kent League in 2006. However, there was one more move to come and in 2009 ‘The Trams‘ joined The Combined Counties League, but after four seasons have yet to manage a top ten finish. 


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Croydon Amateurs until 1974
Croydon Sports Arena, Albert Road, South Norwood SE25 4 QL
0208 654 8555
From M25: Exit at either Junction 6 and then take the A22 to Purley Cross and then join the A23 London Road and then directions below from Purley, or exit at Junction 7 and take the A23 London Road all the way.
From Streatham and Norbury: Take the A23 London Road to the roundabout at Thornton Heath, continue down the A23 Thornton Road. Then take the 1st on the Right past the No Entry road (Fairlands Avenue), Silverleigh Road, 50 yards, at the fork, keep left (signposted Croydon Athletic FC) into Trafford Road, then Mayfield Road (which is a continuation of Trafford Road) Go to the end of Mayfield Road, then left at the last house. Follow the lane, passed allotments, past an open car park space and continue along the lane to our club car park.
Record Attendance:
1,450 v Wycombe Wanderers FA Cup 4th Qualifying Round 1975
Most Recent Senior Honour:
London Senior Cup 2001-02

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Isthmian League Premier Division8thTed Shepherd
1978-1979Isthmian League Premier Division8thTed Shepherd
1979-1980Isthmian League Premier Division20thTed Shepherd
1980-1981Isthmian League Premier Division14thTed Shepherd
1981-1982Isthmian League Premier Division11thTed Shepherd
1982-1983Isthmian League Premier Division11thTed Shepherd
1983-1984Isthmian League Premier Division17thTed Shepherd
1984-1985Isthmian League Premier Division12thTed Shepherd
1985-1986Isthmian League Premier Division4thAdrian Hill
1986-1987Isthmian League Premier Division7thAdrian Hill
1987-1988Isthmian League Premier Division18thSteve Chapman
1988-1989Isthmian League Premier Division22ndSteve Chapman
1989-1990Isthmian League Division One17thSteve Chapman
1990-1991Isthmian League Division One17thD.Goodwin
1991-1992Isthmian League Division One18thPeter Gaydon
1992-1993Isthmian League Division One17thDave Boyton
1993-1994Isthmian League Division One22ndBobby Langford
1994-1995Isthmian League Division Two7thKen Jarvie & Dickson Gill
1995-1996Isthmian League Division Two2ndKen Jarvie & Dickson Gill
1996-1997Isthmian League Division One18thKen Jarvie
1997-1998Isthmian League Division One15thKen Jarvie
1998-1999Isthmian League Division One8thKen Jarvie
 1999-2000Isthmian League Division One1stKen Jarvie
2000-2001Isthmian League Premier Division17thKen Jarvie
2001-2002Isthmian League Premier Division22ndKen Jarvie
2002-2003Isthmian League Division One South18thMick Read
2003-2004Isthmian League Division One South21stMick Read
2004-2005Isthmian League Division One22ndMick Read
2005-2006Isthmian League Division Two10thMick Read
2006-2007Kent League Premier Division3rdMick Read
2007-2008Kent League Premier Division12thDickson Gill
2008-2009Kent League Premier Division9thDickson Gill
2009-2010Combined Counties League Premier Division16thDickson Gill
2010-2011Combined Counties League Premier Division20thDickson Gill
2011-2012Combined Counties League Premier Division16thJohn Fowler
2012-2013Combined Counties League Premier Division14thJohn Fowler
2013-2014Combined Counties League Premier Division13thAaron Smith

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!