Non-League Club Directory Logo

Curzon Ashton

Currently Playing In:

Northern Premier League Division One North


A comparatively young club, Curzon Ashton were formed in 1963 after a merger of local clubs and the new club began competitive football in the local Manchester Amateur and Manchester Football Leagues before moving up a step by joining The Cheshire County League in 1978.

In 1982 an exciting move to join the newly formed North West Counties League gave the club five years of steady development but another exciting move was made in 1987 when Curzon Ashton were accepted for the first ever Northern Premier League Division One.

Ten years at this level was followed by relegation to The Northern Counties East in 1997. This did not prove a sensible move geographically and the club were back in The North West Counties competition the following season.The arrival of Gary Lowe as Manager saw the club rewarded for their consistency by gaining promotion back to the Northern Premier League in 2007. In their last ten seasons they have never finished lower than seventh and have obviously adapted well to Premier football in their last six campaigns.


Club Factfile

Tameside Stadium, Richmond Street, Ashton-under-Lyne, Lancashire OL7 9HG
0161 330 6033
Record Attendance:
1826 v Stamford FA Vase Semi-Final 1980
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Manchester Premier Cup

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1979-1980Cheshire County League Division One9thBill Chell
1980-1981Cheshire County League Division One12thBill Chell
1981-1982Cheshire County League Division One8thBill Chell
1982-1983North West Counties Division One12thC.Mathews
1983-1984North West Counties Division One5thC.Matthews
1984-1985North West Counties Division One6thKevin Bryan
1985-1986North West Counties Division One8thPeter Mayo
1986-1987North West Counties Division One19thPeter Mayo
1987-1988Northern Premier League Division One18thDavid Noble
1988-1989Northern Premier League Division One13thSteve Waywell
1989-1990Northern Premier League Division One8thSteve Waywell
1990-1991Northern Premier League Division One10thSteve Waywell
1991-1992Northern Premier League Division One11thSteve Waywell
1992-1993Northern Premier League Division One7thSteve Waywell
1993-1994Northern Premier League Division One14thDavid Jones
1994-1995Northern Premier League Division One15thDavid Jones
1995-1996Northern Premier League Division One4thDerek Brownbill
1996-1997Northern Premier League Division One20thTerry McLean
1997-1998Northern Counties East Premier Division19thDave Denby
1998-1999North West Counties Division Two14thDave Denby
1999-2000North West Counties Division Two2ndJoe Murty
2000-2001North West Counties Division One11thGary Lowe
2001-2002North West Counties Division One13thGary Lowe
2002-2003North West Counties Division One18thGary Lowe
2003-2004North West Counties Division One7thGary Lowe
2004-2005North West Counties Division One4thGary Lowe
2005-2006North West Counties Division One7thGary Lowe
2006-2007North West Counties Division One2ndGary Lowe
2007-2008Northern Premier League Division One4thGary Lowe
2008-2009Northern Premier League Division One5thGary Lowe
2009-2010Northern Premier League Division One3rdGary Lowe
2010-2011Northern Premier League Division One4thGary Lowe
2011-2012Northern Premier League Division One2ndJohn Flanagan
 2012-2013Northern Premier League Division One1stJohn Flanagan
2013-2014Northern Premier League Premier DivisionJohn Flanagan

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!