Non-League Club Directory Logo

Daventry Town

Altrincham Club Crest image

Having been playing football since 1886, the Daventry club appeared content to compete in local leagues for their first 100 years. They remained with The Northampton Town League and The Central Northways Combination until, in 1989, they joined The United Counties competition which had built a good reputation and contained the best of the smaller local clubs.

However, Daventry Town were obviously ready for the move up the non-league pyramid, as they won the title in Division One in their first two campaigns gaining promotion in 1991.  For the next twenty years ‘The Town’ shuttled between the Premier Division and Division One with the highlights being Division One title winners in 2001 and 2008 and a first move up to The Southern League as United Counties Premier League Champions in 2010.

Their first season in Division One Central, under the guidance of manager Mark Kinsella, brought a creditable third place finish, losing in the play off final and the club seems to be enjoying life at the highest level in their history.


Club Factfile

Communications Park, Browns Road, Daventry, Northants NN11 4NS
01327 311 239
From Northampton or J.16 of the M1, follow A45 westbound into Daventry, crossing the A5 on the way. At first roundabout bear left along A45 Daventry Bypass. At next roundabout go straight over onto Browns Road. The Club is at the top of this road on the left.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

 1990-1991United Counties Division One1st Willie Barrett
1991-1992United Counties Premier Division14thWillie Barrett
1992-1993United Counties Premier Division5thWillie Barrett
1993-1994United Counties Premier Division20thWillie Barrett
1994-1995United Counties Division One19thMark Gwilliam
1995-1996United Counties Division One12thTony Perry
1996-1997United Counties Division One13thTony Perry
1997-1998United Counties Division One7th
1998-1999United Counties Division One10thBarry Collinson
1999-2000United Counties Division One5thKevin Flear & Craig Robson
 2000-2001United Counties Division One1st Kevin Flear & Craig Robson
2001-2002United Counties Premier Division15thMark Shackleton
2002-2003United Counties Premier Division10thMark Shackleton
2003-2004United Counties Premier Division22ndMark Shackleton
2004-2005United Counties Premier Division22ndMark Shackleton
2005-2006United Counties Division One6thTony Perry
2006-2007United Counties Division One4thTony Perry
 2007-2008United Counties Division One1st Martin Walker
2008-2009United Counties Premier Division7thMartin Walker
 2009-2010United Counties Premier Division1st Tommy Brooklands
2010-2011Southern League Division One Central3rdMark Kinsella
2011-2012Southern League Division One Central16thMark Kinsella
2012-2013Southern League Division One Central8thMark Kinsella
2013-2014Southern League Division One Central4thMark Kinsella

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!