Non-League Club Directory Logo

Didcot Town

Altrincham Club Crest image

Although formed in 1907, Didcot Town played in local football until joining The Metropolitan League in 1957. After seven seasons, the Hellenic League was attracting ambitious clubs in the Oxford, Berks & Bucks ares and provided a positive opportunity. ’The Railwaymen’ joined in 1963 for, what turned out to be, a long consistent period of Hellenic membership.

Premier Division football was enjoyed for the vast majority of their forty two years in the competition, although two brief periods in Division One, in 1985 and 1993, only lasted for two campaigns on each occasion. At the turn of the century Didcot Town were an accepted power in Hellenic football and, under manager Stuart Peace, the Championship and promotion was achieved in 2005-2006, one season after the club had won The FA Vase at White Hart Lane.

Southern League Football has proved a tough challenge, but one season was experienced in the Premier Division and the club is building to sample that level football once again.


Club Factfile

npower Loop Meadow Stadium, Bowmont Water, Didcot, Oxon OX11 7GA
01235 813 138
From A34 take A4130 towards Didcot. At first roundabout take first exit, at next roundabout take third exit, then straight across next two roundabouts. At fifth roundabout turn right into Avon Way. Follow Avon Way for 1/2 mile till you get to a mini roundabout. Straight across it, ground is on the left after 100 yards, in Bowmont Water.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Hellenic League Premier Division12th
1979-1980Hellenic League Premier Division9th
1980-1981Hellenic League Premier Division9th
1981-1982Hellenic League Premier Division15th
1982-1983Hellenic League Premier Division6th
1983-1984Hellenic League Premier Division9th
1984-1985Hellenic League Premier Division17thJohn Bailey
1985-1986Hellenic League Division One4thB.Smith
1986-1987Hellenic League Division One3rdLarry Hill
1987-1988Hellenic League Premier Division5thLarry Hill
1988-1989Hellenic League Premier Division8thLarry Hill
1989-1990Hellenic League Premier Division14thLarry Hill
1990-1991Hellenic League Premier Division4thLarry Hill
1991-1992Hellenic League Premier Division7thLarry Hill
1992-1993Hellenic League Premier Division18thLarry Hill
1993-1994Hellenic League Division One15thLarry Hill
1994-1995Hellenic League Division One10thLarry Hill
1995-1996Hellenic League Premier Division17thAlan Hyatt
1996-1997Hellenic League Premier Division9thRobert Dodd
1997-1998Hellenic League Premier Division12thRobert Dodd
1998-1999Hellenic League Premier Division9thRobert Dodd
1999-2000Hellenic League Premier Division7thBob Pratley
2000-2001Hellenic League Premier Division4thPete Cox
2001-2002Hellenic League Premier Division5thPete Cox
2002-2003Hellenic League Premier Division5thPete Cox
2003-2004Hellenic League Premier Division5thPeter Foley
2004-2005Hellenic League Premier Division2ndStuart Peace
 2005-2006Hellenic League Premier Division1stStuart Peace
2006-2007Southern League Division One SW10thStuart Peace
2007-2008Southern League Division One SW3rdStuart Peace
2008-2009Southern League Division One SW5thStuart Peace
2009-2010Southern League Premier Division15thStuart Peace
2010-2011Southern League Premier Division19thStuart Peace
2011-2012Southern League Division One SW16thFrancis Vines
2012-2013Southern League Division One SW17thDave Mudge
2013-2014Southern League Division One SW12thIan Conncannon + Jamie Heapy

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!