Non-League Club Directory Logo

Dorchester Town

Altrincham Club Crest image

Dorset League football was the first competition in which the County Town’s football club competed, having been formed in 1880. In 1947 the club joined the Western League where the championship was won in 1954-1955.

A move up to The Southern League took place in 1972 and ‘The Magpies’ remained loyal members of the famous competition for the next thirty two seasons. Four promotions into The Premier Division were celebrated in 1978, 1980, 1987 and 2003 but of course for those successes to have been celebrated, relegations had also been suffered.

One of the best changes of division was achieved from a play-off tournament to decide the final places in the brand new and exciting Conference South in 2004.

Dorchester Town had finished 17th that season so promotion was a real bonus.  Surprisingly their first season at the higher level was their best, finishing in 8th position.  However, having spent many seasons in the shadow of neighbours Weymouth, Dorchester have enjoyed seniority since 2010 and have now settled happily in The Conference South with another 8th place finish.


Club Factfile

The Avenue Stadium, Weymouth Avenue, Dorchester DT1 2SP
01305 262 451
The stadium is located at the junction of A35 Dorchester Bypass and the A354 to Weymouth, adjacent to Tesco. There is a coach bay for the team coach at the front of the stadium. Any supporters coach should park on the railway embankment side of the stadium.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Southern League Premier Division20thDavid Best
 1979-1980Southern Division 1 South1stMartin Chivers
1980-1981Southern League Southern Division6thMartin Chivers
1981-1982Southern League Southern Division3rdMartin Chivers
1982-1983Southern League Premier Division9thStuart Bell
1983-1984Southern League Premier Division19thStuart Bell
1984-1985Southern League Southern Division14thKeith Miller
1985-1986Southern League Southern Division21stKeith Miller
 1986-1987Southern League Southern Division1stKeith Miller
1987-1988Southern League Premier Division11thKeith Miller
1988-1989Southern League Premier Division13thKeith Miller
1989-1990 Southern League Premier Division14thKeith Miller
1990-1991Southern League Premier Division11thKeith Miller
1991-1992Southern League Premier Division11thPaul Arnold
1992-1993Southern League Premier Division18thPaul Arnold
1993-1994Southern League Premier Division18thPaul Arnold
1994-1995Southern League Premier Division6thStuart Morgan
1995-1996Southern League Premier Division13thStuart Morgan
1996-1997Southern League Premier Division15thStuart Morgan
1997-1998Southern League Premier Division4thStuart Morgan
1998-1999Southern League Premier Division18thStuart Morgan
1999-2000Southern League Premier Division18thStuart Morgan
2000-2001Southern League Premier Division21stStuart Morgan
2001-2002Southern League Eastern Division3rdMark Morris
 2002-2003Southern League Eastern Division1stMark Morris
2003-2004Southern League Premier Division17thMark Morris
2004-2005Conference South8thMark Morris
2005-2006Conference South11thMark Morris
2006-2007Conference South17thMick Jenkins
2007-2008Blue Square South21stShaun Brooks
2008-2009Blue Square South19thShaun Brooks
2009-2010 Blue Square South17th
2010-2011Blue Square South17thAshley Vickers
2011-2012Blue Square South11thAshley Vickers
2012-2013Blue Square South8thPhil Simkin
2013-2014Blue Square South22ndPhil Simkin
2014-2015Southern League Premier Division

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!