Non-League Club Directory Logo

Dulwich Hamlet

Altrincham Club Crest image

One of the most famous names in Amateur football, Dulwich Hamlet won the FA Amateur Cup three times including a record 7-1 Final victory over Marine in 1932. The South London club supplied many amateur internationals including record goalscorer Edgar Kail (427 goals) and the famous club played at Champion Hill in one of the very best grounds outside the Football League.

As one of the last true amateur clubs, Hamlet worked their way through local leagues and joined The Isthmian League from The Spartan League in 1908. Keeping their amateur principles didn’t help the club gain results, but their spirit and wonderful ground were always respected by the non-league football world.

A long serving Isthmian club, Dulwich Hamlet have won the title on four occasions and enjoyed successes in The London Senior Cup, Surrey Senior Cup and London Challenge Cup. They have competed in The Isthmian League without a break and in 2013 returned to The Premier Division as Champions of Division One South.


Club Factfile

Champion Hill Stadium, Edgar Kail Way, Dog Kennel Hill, London SE22 8BD
020 7274 8707
East Dulwich station, 200 yards. Denmark Hill station, 10 minutes walk. Herne Hill station then bus 37 stops near ground. Buses 40 & 176 from Elephant & Castle, 185 from Victoria.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Isthmian League Premier Division4thAlan Smith
1979-1980Isthmian League Premier Division3rdAlan Smith
1980-1981Isthmian League Premier Division15thAlan Smith
1981-1982Isthmian League Premier Division14thEddie Presland
1982-1983Isthmian League Premier Division6thEddie Presland
1983-1984Isthmian League Premier Division10thEddie Presland
1984-1985Isthmian League Premier Division7thEddie Presland
1985-1986Isthmian League Premier Division9thBilly Smith
1986-1987Isthmian League Premier Division18thAllen Batsford
1987-1988Isthmian League Premier Division20thMicky Leach
1988-1989Isthmian League Premier Division16thEddie Presland
1989-1990Isthmian League Premier Division22ndEddie Presland
1990-1991Isthmian League Division One12thJohn Langford
1991-1992Isthmian League Division One2ndJim Cannon
1992-1993Isthmian League Premier Division14thJim Cannon
1993-1994Isthmian League Premier Division16thJim Cannon
1994-1995Isthmian League Premier Division11thFrank Murphy
1995-1996Isthmian League Premier Division5thFrank Murphy
1996-1997Isthmian League Premier Division12thFrank Murphy
1997-1998Isthmian League Premier Division16thJohn Ryan/Mick Brown
1998-1999Isthmian League Premier Division16thDave Garland
1999-2000Isthmian League Premier Division10thDave Garland
2000-2001Isthmian League Premier Division22ndDave Garland
2001-2002Isthmian League Division One17thGwynne Berry
2002-2003Isthmian League Division One South4thMartin Eede
2003-2004Isthmian League Division One South7thMartin Eede
2004-2005Isthmian League Division One15thMartin Eede
2005-2006Isthmian League Division One13thMartin Eede
2006-2007Isthmian League Division One South8thWayne Burnett
2007-2008Isthmian League Division One South6thCraig Edwards
2008-2009Isthmian League Division One South12thCraig Edwards
2009-2010Isthmian League Division One South12thGavin Rose
2010-2011Isthmian League Division One South5thGavin Rose
2011-2012Isthmian League Division One South3rdGavin Rose
 2012-2013Isthmian League Division One South1stGavin Rose
2013-2014Isthmian League Premier Division6thGavin Rose

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!