Non-League Club Directory Logo


Currently Playing In:

Conference South

Altrincham Club Crest image

Having built a reputation as Swaythling Athletic, a lively Hampshire club who had worked through the Southampton Junior and Senior competitions and had established themselves as a senior member of the Hampshire County League. The club’s name was changed to Eastleigh FC in 1980 and they were certainly ready for the Wessex League challenge in 1986.

After seventeen seasons of varying form in their new League, their eighth manager Paul Doswell, built a squad good enough to win the Wessex League Championship and a place in The Southern League Eastern Division.

The timing was good, as one season later there was a re-structuring in the senior leagues. Eastleigh found themselves in The Isthmian Premier Division, where they immediately gained promotion to The Conference South through the Play-Offs.

Seven seasons later ‘The Spitfires’ appear to be comfortable in their league.They have been involved in play-offs unsuccessfully in 2009 and 2013, reached the First Round of the FA Cup hand appear to be consolidating well in their division.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Swaythling Athletic 1946-59, Swaythling 1973-80
Silverlake Stadium ‘Ten Acres’, Stoneham Lane, Eastleigh SO50 9HT
02380 613 361
From junction 13 of M3, turn right into Leigh Road, turn right at Holiday Inn, at mini roundabout take second exit, at the next mini roundabout take second exit, then next mini roundabout take first exit. Then take the first turning right (signposted) ground 200 metres on the left.
Record Attendance:
2,589 v Southampton - Friendly July 2005
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Conference South 2013-14

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1980-1981Hampshire League Division One5th
1981-1982Hampshire League Division One4th
1982-1983Hampshire League Division One8thJenner Brown
1983-1984Hampshire League Division One4thJenner Brown
1984-1985Hampshire League Division One4thDick Donohoe
1985-1986Hampshire League Division One5th Dick Donohoe
1986-1987Wessex League8thDick Donohoe
1987-1988Wessex League12thTony Noble
1988-1989Wessex League9thTony Noble
1989-1990Wessex League14thTony Noble
1990-1991Wessex League12thDon Gowans
1991-1992Wessex League10thDon Gowans
1992-1993Wessex League9thDon Gowans
1993-1994Wessex League15thDon Gowans
1994-1995Wessex League14thDon Gowans
1995-1996Wessex League4thRoger Sherwood
1996-1997Wessex League7thRoger Sherwood
1997-1998Wessex League4thRay Light
1998-1999Wessex League4thRay Light
1999-2000Wessex League7thDerek Holloway
2000-2001Wessex League7thDerek Holloway
2001-2002Wessex League13thTrevor Parker
 2002-2003Wessex League1stPaul Doswell
2003-2004Southern League Eastern Division4thPaul Doswell
2004-2005Isthmian League Premier Division3rdPaul Doswell
2005-2006Conference South8thPaul Doswell
2006-2007Conference South15thPaul Doswell
2007-2008Conference South6thPaul Doswell
2008-2009Conference South3rdIan Baird
2009-2010Conference South11thIan Baird
2010-2011Conference South8thIan Baird
2011-2012Conference South12thIan Baird
2012-2013Conference South4thIan Baird
 2013-2014Conference South1stRichard Hill
2014-2015Conference PremierRichard Hill

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!