Non-League Club Directory Logo

Ebbsfleet United

Altrincham Club Crest image

The name of Gravesend had featured in non-league football prominently since the Second World War as Gravesend United merged with Northfleet United and the new club, Gravesend & Northfleet, enjoyed life in The Southern League until 1979 when they became founder members of The Football Alliance.

After three seasons, relegation took the club into The Isthmian League for the first time and ‘The Fleet ‘ remained there until they returned again to the top flight in 2001 as Ryman Champions.

A quite surprising change of name in 2007 found the Kent supporters following their local club called Ebbsfleet United. Any doubters soon cheered up as their club reached a Wembley Final and won The FA Trophy with a 1-0 victory over Torquay United in front of a crowd of 40,186.

The club found it tough in the Blue Square Premier and only finished in the top half once, with an excellent third place in 2010-201 and despite the dedication of Manager Liam Daish ‘The Fleet’ have dropped down to The Conference South to rebuild


Club Factfile

Stonebridge Road, Northfleet, Kent DA11 9GN
01474 533 796
A2 to Ebbsfleet/Eurostar International Junction. Follow Brown signs to 'The Fleet'.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

As Gravesend & Northfleet
1977-1978Southern League Premier Division5thTony Sitford
1978-1979Southern League Premier Division12thTony Sitford
1979-1980Alliance Premier5thTony Sitford
1980-1981Alliance Premier15thDave Galvin
1981-1982Alliance Premier20thDave Galvin
1982-1983Southern League Premier Division10thStan Harland/Tony Burns
1983-1984Southern League Premier Division4thTony Burns
1984-1985Southern League Premier Division13thTony Burns
1985-1986Southern League Premier Division22ndTony Burns/EddiePresland
1986-1987Southern League Division One6thEddie Presland
1987-1988Southern League Division One4thEddie Presland/Denis Moore
1988-1989Southern League Division One2ndDenis Moore
1989-1990Southern League Premier Division7thJimmy Paine
1990-1991Southern League Premier Division21stDenis Moore/Bob Glozier Eddie McCluskey
1991-1992Southern League Division One22ndGarry Aldous
1992-1993Southern League Division One4thGarry Aldous
 1993-1994Southern League Division One1stGarry Aldous
1994-1995Southern League Premier Division14thGarry Aldous
1995-1996Southern League Premier Division11thGarry Aldous/Chris Weller
1996-1997Southern League Premier Division14th
1997-1998Isthmian League Premier Division13thSteve Lovell
1998-1999Isthmian League Premier Division10thAndy Ford
1999-2000Isthmian League Premier Division11thAndy Ford
2000-2001Isthmian League Premier Division6thAndy Ford
 2001-2002Isthmian League Premier Division1stAndy Ford
2002-2003Football Conference17thAndy Ford
2003-2004Football Conference11thAndy Ford
2004-2005Football Conference14thAndy Ford
2005-2006Football Conference16thLiam Daish
2006-2007Football Conference7thLiam Daish
As Ebbsfleet United
2007-2008Football Conference11thLiam Daish
2008-2009Conference Premier14thLiam Daish
2009-2010Conference Premier22ndLiam Daish
2010-2011Conference South3rdLiam Daish
2011-2012Conference Premier14thLiam Daish
2012-2013Conference Premier23rdLiam Daish
2013-2014Conference South4thSteve Brown

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!