Non-League Club Directory Logo

Forest Green Rovers

Altrincham Club Crest image

Having joined The Stroud & District League in 1890, the little club, from a village near Nailsworth in Gloucestershire, steadily stepped up the non-league ‘pyramid’ through the Gloucestershire Northern Senior League (1922-1967), Gloucestershire Senior League (1967-1973) and then, while in the Hellenic League (1973-1982), the club put Forest Green on the map with a storming run to Wembley and a brilliant winning performance in the F.A.Vase Final.

With an excellent ground and steady improvements on the field, Forest Green Rovers were accepted by the Southern League in 1982. Their reputation had been given a great boost and the club’s reputation grew overnight after sharing the star billing and a 5-5 scoreline with Blyth Spartans in the Rothmans Challenge Cup. The famous Northern League club was to hit the headlines with an F.A.Cup run to the Fifth Round just two years later and, although the Spartans did win a penalty shoot-out at ‘The Lawn’, the fabulous ten goal thriller will always be remembered by those lucky enough to have been present.

An F.A.Vase Final victory at Wembley was followed by a step up to The Southern League and steady progress that eventually brought promotion to the Football Conference. Two F.A.Trophy Final appearances lifted the club and its supporters onto ‘a high’ and a move up the hill in the village took the club to a splendid new stadium. Rovers have experienced twelve years unbroken membership of non-league football’s top competition in which they have appeared in the F.A.Cup competition proper in all but four campaigns. 

With sensible administration and an excellent choice of managers, the club is a fine example of what can be achieved with good leadership and loyal local support.


Club Factfile

The New Lawn, Smiths Way, Nailsworth, Gloucestershire GL6 0FG
01453 834 860
Nailsworth is on the A46 between Stroud and Bath. At mini roundabout in town turn up Spring Hill towards Forest Green (signposted) and the stadium is at the top of the hill after the second roundabout. Satnav users should enter GL6 0ET and not the mail post code. Please note on Matchdays there is a Temporary Traffic Order in place on the highway around the stadium. Car parking is available inside the stadium at £3 per vehicle.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Hellenic League12th Peter Goring
1978-1979Hellenic League3rdPeter Goring
1979-1980Hellenic League6thPeter Goring
1980-1981Hellenic League7thTony Lewis /Bob Mursell
 1981-1982Hellenic League1stBob Mursell
1982-1983Southern League Midland Division3rdBob Mursell
1983-1984Southern League Midland Division11thSteve Millard
1984-1985Southern League Midland Division14thSteve Millard
1985-1986Southern League Midland Division14thSteve Millard
1986-1987Southern League Midland Division9thSteve MIllard
1987-1988Southern League Midland Division9thSteve Millard
1988-1989Southern League Midland Division12thJohn Evans
1989-1990Southern League Midland Division10thJohn Evans
1990-1991Southern League Midland Division18thBobby Jones
1991-1992Southern League Midland Division19thBobby Jones
1992-1993Southern League Midland Division19thGeoff Medcroft
1993-1994Southern League Midland Division15thPat Casey
1994-1995Southern League Midland Division18thFrank Gregan
1995-1996Southern League Southern Division 8thFrank Gregan
 1996-1997Southern League Southern Division1stFrank Gregan
 1997-1998Southern League Premier Division1stFrank Gregan
1998-1999Football Conference12thFrank Gregan
1999-2000Football Conference19thFrank Gregan
2000-2001 Football Conference16thFrank Gregan
2001-2002Football Conference18thNigel Spink
2002-2003Football Conference9thN.Spink /ColinAddison
2003-2004Football Conference18thColin Addison
2004-2005Football Conference20thTim Harris
2005-2006Football Conference19thGary Owers
2006-2007Football Conference14thGary Owers
2007-2008Conference Premier8thJim Harvey
2008-2009Conference Premier18th Jim Harvey
2009-2010Conference Premier21stJim Harvey
2010-2011Conference Premier20thDavid Hockaday
2011-2012Conference Premier10thDavid Hockaday
2012-2013Conference Premier10thDavid Hockaday
2013-2014Conference Premier10thAdrian Pennock

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!