Non-League Club Directory Logo

Frickley Athletic

Currently Playing In:

Northern Premier League Premier Division

Altrincham Club Crest image

Originally known as Frickley Colliery, the club was formed in 1910 and started out in the Sheffield and then Yorkshire Leagues.  A season with The Cheshire County League came between spells spent in The Midland Counties competition and The Northern Premier League was achieved in 1978.

The ‘Eighties’ proved to be an exciting era for ‘The Blues,’ as promotion to The Football Alliance was achieved in 1980. Seven seasons at the very top non-league level produced the club’s best ever season in 1985-1986 when, under Manager Sean Marshall, Frickley Athletic finished as Runners Up.

Since then, life has been very steady, after an immediate and surprising relegation. Twenty five consecutive seasons in the Northern Premier League Premier Division have seen the club usually battling for survival. Only four campaigns brought finishes in the top ten, with the best in 2005-2006 when Frickley Athletic came second and lost in the Play-offs after penalties.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Frickley Colliery
Westfield Lane, South Elmsall, Pontefract WF9 2EQ
01977 642 460
From North: Leave A1 to join A639, go over flyover to junction. Turn left and immediately right, signed South Elmsall. Continue to roundabout and take 2nd exit to traffic lights and turn left onto Mill Lane (B6474). Turn right at the T-junction and continue down hill to next T-junction. Turn right and immediately left up Westfield Lane. The ground is signposted to the left after about half a mile. From South: Exit M18 at J2 onto A1 (North). Leave A1 for A638 towards Wakefield. Continue on A638, going straight on at the first roundabout and turn left at next roundabout to traffic lights. Continue as above from traffic lights.
Record Attendance:
6,500 v Rotherham United FA CUp 1st Round 1971
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Sheffield & Hallamshire Senior Cup 2012-13

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Northern Premier League12thJohn Fairhurst
1978-1979Northern Premier League19thJohn Fairhurst
1979-1980Northern Premier League3rdGeoff.Sleight
1980-1981Football Alliance10thGeoff.Sleight
1981-1982Football Alliance15thGeoff.Sleight
1982-1983Gola League16thGeoff.Sleight
1983-1984Gola League12thSean Marshall
1984-1985Gola League11thSean Marshall
1985-1986Gola League2ndSean Marshall
1986-1987Vauxhall Conference21stSean Marshall
1987-1988Northern Premier League Premier Division10thSean Marshall
1988-1989Northern Premier League Premier Division9thSean Marshall
1989-1990Northern Premier League Premier Division13thSean Marshall
1990-1991Northern Premier League Premier Division10thBrian Fidler
1991-1992Northern Premier League Premier Division14thBrian Fidler
1992-1993Northern Premier League Premier Division7thRonnie Glavin
1993-1994Northern Premier League Premier Division4thRonnie Glavin
1994-1995Northern Premier League Premier Division19thRonnie Glavin
1995-1996Northern Premier League Premier Division19thW.Whitehurst
1996-1997Northern Premier League Premier Division18thMark Dempsey
1997-1998Northern Premier League Premier Division16thIan Thompson
1998-1999Northern Premier League Premier Division16thIan Thompson
1999-2000Northern Premier League Premier Division16thIan Thompson
2000-2001Northern Premier League Premier Division20thStuart Barrowclough
2001-2002Northern Premier League Premier Division13thSteve Richards
2002-2003Northern Premier League Premier Division20thPhil Sharpe
2003-2004Northern Premier League Premier Division22ndPhil Sharpe
2004-2005Northern Premier League Premier Division18thPhil Sharpe
2005-2006Northern Premier League Premier Division2ndGary Marrow
2006-2007Northern Premier League Premier Division16thGary Marrow
2007-2008Northern Premier League Premier Division14thBilly Heath
2008-2009Northern Premier League Premier Division11thBilly Heath
2009-2010Northern Premier League Premier Division15thBilly Heath
2010-2011Northern Premier League Premier Division18thBilly Heath
2011-2012Northern Premier League Premier Division19thPeter Rinkcavage
2012-2013Northern Premier League Premier Division18thKarl Rose
2013-2014Northern Premier League Premier Division21stKarl Rose

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!